Newbe, witch Aleph should i build..? - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 8th July 2005, 02:20 PM   #1
Magne is offline Magne  Norway
diyAudio Member

Question Newbe, witch Aleph should i build..?

I'm new to audio build, so i need some advice..
I want to build an Aleph BOSOZ and an Aleph amplifier, but i need some more info.
I have been searching a lot in the forum but not found answers for all my questions.

What is the difference (soundwise) between the Aleph 2/4/5/X?
Can I use a 42v 800VA transformator for Aleph 4/2? it is designed for 40v/37v, is the voltage critical?

I want an amplifier who has power and very good sound (as most of you ) from 20 - 20kHz. witch Aleph has the best compromise?
Old 8th July 2005, 06:56 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

The 42 volt 800 VA is usable but you would need four of them for Aleph 2/4 monoblocks. The best solution would be to get two 800VA to 1000VA toroidal transformers each with dual 37 volt to 42 volt secondaries. You need one transformer for each monoblock. The biggest expense will be heatsinks large enough (rated at least 0.11K/W per monoblock) to dissapate the heat generated by the gain and css transistors.

I wish I could tell you which one sounded best but sound is in the ears of the beholder and is very subjective. I can tell you that they all sound good to me, but that is my ears.
Old 8th July 2005, 07:08 PM   #3
steenoe is offline steenoe  Denmark
diyAudio Member

No chance you can use those trafo's for an X. Too high voltage. The easy way around it, would be to join the Mini aleph GP, and build yourself an Aleph 5. Like I intend to, whenever I get the time Seems like all my old pal's need's new equipment!!
Check this site: http://www.diyamps.com/aleph/