Newbe, witch Aleph should i build..?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm new to audio build, so i need some advice..
I want to build an Aleph BOSOZ and an Aleph amplifier, but i need some more info.
I have been searching a lot in the forum but not found answers for all my questions.

What is the difference (soundwise) between the Aleph 2/4/5/X?
Can I use a 42v 800VA transformator for Aleph 4/2? it is designed for 40v/37v, is the voltage critical?

I want an amplifier who has power and very good sound (as most of you :) ) from 20 - 20kHz. witch Aleph has the best compromise?

The 42 volt 800 VA is usable but you would need four of them for Aleph 2/4 monoblocks. The best solution would be to get two 800VA to 1000VA toroidal transformers each with dual 37 volt to 42 volt secondaries. You need one transformer for each monoblock. The biggest expense will be heatsinks large enough (rated at least 0.11K/W per monoblock) to dissapate the heat generated by the gain and css transistors.

I wish I could tell you which one sounded best but sound is in the ears of the beholder and is very subjective. I can tell you that they all sound good to me, but that is my ears.

No chance you can use those trafo's for an X. Too high voltage. The easy way around it, would be to join the Mini aleph GP, and build yourself an Aleph 5. Like I intend to, whenever I get the time:xeye: Seems like all my old pal's need's new equipment!!
Check this site: http://www.diyamps.com/aleph/
The BosoZ is a nice companion for that amp. This approach would demand some new trafo's though:xeye: I never based a project on stuff I had already. If it is worth building for you, it will pay to get a pair of suitable trafos;) Just my thoughts:)

Steen:cool:

Guy, he asked a lot of questions:
What is the difference (soundwise) between the Aleph 2/4/5/X?