aleph theatre?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
ok. well, yeah, this guy has sonus fabre all the way around, and he's selling some of his other gear (all around $3K each), so, money isnt the probelm, we just want the best we can DIY...

thanks peter for giving a straight answer :)

plus, its a pretty good sized room... i sell gear for a living, and i would suggest higher than 60 watts if i were selling him something.

the 2's it is. i will keep everyone posted. he is a photographer so we will have some good documentation of the project. (which should be pretty massive on scale, because im building a pair of monos too, so a total of 8 aleph 2 channels :)

ive heard surround content before... trust me. but if you read the whole post, you will see that im using this for SACD and DVD-Audio too... NOT just surround sound movies. and im trying to make it the best, not adequate...

Jules said:
All I can advise is that you listen to the surround content in isolation before you do anything, at the BBC we would monitor rear channels on nothing more elaborate than JBL control 1 speakers and some class a/b workhorse type amp, Quad perhaps.
Jules

I've read about some serious installations where Grand Slamms were used for rear channels speakers. Don't let anybody take away your vision.;)

Attachments

• t1.jpg
    t1.jpg
    59.6 KB · Views: 1,113
hehe, thanks peter :)

most people only do DIY just to get something cheap. im doing it to get the best possible i can afford. most people dont understand the system being upgraded (primare processor and 5 channel amp with sonus fabre speakers), is already like a $15K system... if i just wanted standard class a/b i would keep the stuff and not worry about it.

Peter Daniel said:
I've read about some serious installations where Grand Slamms were used for rear channels speakers. Don't let anybody take away your vision.;)