Dumb newbie question

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi Folks,

This is a really dumb one, so please don't flame me. I'm a musician, not an EE.

I'm assembling a BOSOZ and all is going well. I assumed from all that I have read that you want to solder the components to the board with the solder joint on the bottom side of the PC board, which is what I did.

I was reading last months AudioXpress and saw that the Pass phono stage had the solder joints on the silkscreened side of the board. Is there something I don't know or am I just overanalyzing again? :D

Actually, I'm more curious than worried about it. This is quite an education. Also, could any of you recommend a really good electronics text? Can't wait to fire up the BOSOZ!

Thanks,

Greg Grimes

The soldering should be on the bottom (non-silkscreened) side of the board. I think you're mistaken about the pearl. Look at the pictures posted here: http://www.passdiy.com/projects/pearlono4.htm

Note that fig. 8 shows the bottom just before soldering the leads to the board.

You will see solder on the top-side because it wicks through the plated-through holes.

The most recommended electronics text here is "The Art of Electronics" by Horowitz and Hill. Cambridge University Press. It's not cheap, but it is big, thorough, and very understandable. It can be bought online. Check Cambridge University Press website.

Or maybe he was talking about this Pass phono stage. In this case the circuit is double sided (or I think so) and soldering is done on both sides.

You can also design one layer board with traces on top and solder it as such. In this case the connections would be shorter by double the thickness of the board.;)

Attachments

• ono.jpg
    ono.jpg
    84.3 KB · Views: 701
Retired diyAudio Moderator
Joined 2002
Greg,