ZenV4 noise question

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello All,

I am finishing my version of the ZenV4 amplifier. I started this project a long time ago when I was a student and didn't have much money to spend. "My version" mostly implies a fancy chassis, the circuit itself remains the same. Feel free to look at the pictures at http://pages.infinit.net/deafboy/Pass/Pass.html. The power supply is not regulated as in the original article by Pass. Instead, it is a capacitor input, pi filtered with a large choke. I built both the choke and the toroidal power transformer. For the choke I dismantle a regular IE core transformer and reorganized the lams to build an air gapped choke. I had to wind a coil for it. I used an old Variac as the basis for the power transformer. I simply wound a secondary on the core it to make a nice toroidal transformer. Variacs are very cheap at Hamfests. The components values for the pi filter are 6800 µF, 14 mH and 66 000 µF. The first capacitor value is low by "audiophiles" standards because I wanted to keep the peak charging currents at reasonable values. The inductor and the 66 000 µF capacitance that forms the filter attenuates 120 Hz voltage ripple from the input capacitor by a factor of 350. When the supply is feeding a 4A load the ripple is about 3.5 Vp-p before the inductor and 10 mVp-p after. The supply feeds both channels. My first intention was to build a choke input supply but the inductor was buzzing loudly during my tests so I decided instead to build a pi filter supply.