PassLabs Project Suggestions

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi guys.. I am somewhat of a Speaker DIY'er, and would like to begin my first amp project. I have been looking everywhere for quality information, and it seems that the Pass Labs forums seem to offer the most in support, as well as a large following. With that it mind.. I would love to attempt a Pass Labs project..

I do have a couple of questions:

1.) What project would you reccomend to an amp newbie?

I would like to construct something with a little kick.. No flea amps please. I am not sure if a tube or SS would be easier for a first project.

2.) Where is the best place to purchase as many (if not all) required components to complete said project?

I suppose I really want to build something that I can be proud of.. Like I am of my various speaker projects.

I have limited electronics experience ... primarily from speaker cross-overs.I have never made a pcb.. so I would probably need some help there - a kit would be ideal..

3.) is this possible??

Any suggestions or comments welcomed.

Jeff

Retired diyAudio Moderator
Joined 2002
Originally posted by JeffG
1.) What project would you reccomend to an amp newbie?
If you are going for Pass Labs stuff, you can buy pcbs from the PassDIY site for the ZenV4. It might be a good starter project:
http://www.passdiy.com/projects/zenv4-1.htm

2.) Where is the best place to purchase as many (if not all) required components to complete said project?

There is a digikey part list in the article. Digikey.com is a great place to buy components for building amplifiers. Mouser.com also carries stuff that digikey doesn't have, like Vishay-Dale resistors.

3.) is this possible??

It should be possible. There are many threads on this forum about building Pass Labs amplifiers, so you should find enough material to get started, then you can ask questions as you go along if issues come up.