Threshold 400a advice needed.

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi!

I just bought a Threshold 400a. What a nicely built amplifier! Cosmetically it is in mint condition and it works fine. My guess is that after 25 years it needs some adjustment electronically and probably some new caps. I would really like to bring it back to spec.

I have measured the DC voltage on the speaker terminals with nothing on the inputs. I got 50 mV and 55 mV on the left and right channel respectively. Should I worry about this?

As I understand it, the 400a has a clever dynamic bias current adjustment. How should I proceed bringing this back to spec? (What are the specs btw in terms of distortion etc?)

I am a trained scientist but a neophyte when it comes to real electronics. I have a DMM, 2 channel analoge scope and a signal generator (PC soundcard based) at my disposal.

A service manual (if such a thing exists) or at least a schematic would be very helpful.

I am very grateful for any advice this forum may offer.

Cheers,

- Harald

Administrator
Joined 2004
Paid Member
service amp

Hi Harald,
If you have access to a good cap checker, I'd test the filter caps before discarding them. Go ahead and change the signal and decoupling caps. If you have the ability, matching the transistors makes a very positive difference.
One good way to tell if the filter caps are going is to look for positive "pips" on the charging wafeform with a 'scope (AC coupled). Really large value caps as in Bedini will have those "pips" even when good because the caps are too high in value.
Lastly, check the value of carbon composition resistors, they like to drift value with age.
-Chris

Administrator
Joined 2004
Paid Member
High offset

Hello Sy,