Heat sink schematics - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 12th June 2004, 07:42 AM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Heat sink schematics

Hi,

My first post in this forum!
I'm thinking of building an aleph5, and is pondering about the heatsinks. If I have the math correct, I need heatsinks with Rth = 0,133C/W for a total of 300W. Assuming ambient 20C and keeping temps below 60C. (60C-20C)/300W
Please correct me if I'm wrong as I'm an noob at this.
I've found an company in Sweden that supplies sinks that looks interesting, www.webra.se, but I'm not sure I understand the graphs for their sinks.
Looking at the following:
http://www.webra.se/html/products/w-150-44-11-22.htm
As far as I understand Rth is 0,08 for 157x200, but surely this can't be? I recon I would need alot more cooling than one of those!?
Old 12th June 2004, 02:30 PM   #2
diyAudio Member

Send a message via ICQ to Devil_H@ck Send a message via AIM to Devil_H@ck Send a message via MSN to Devil_H@ck
Those figures could be correct, notice that they used fans: at the bottom of the graph you can see how much air flow is needed to get to a certain C/W.
Old 12th June 2004, 02:42 PM   #3
diyAudio Member

Thanks for the reply. I understand they used fans. I assume 0 in that graph yields normal and not forced convection? If thats true then an Rth of 0,08 will result in only 24C temp rise if 300W of heat is applied. This sounds a bit to incredible. I'm just waiting to say doh! and smack my head somewhere here.
Old 12th June 2004, 03:11 PM   #4
diyAudio Member

Default Re: Heat sink schematics

Quote:
Originally posted by Llafriel

I need heatsinks with Rth = 0,133C/W for a total of 300W.

Hi there, well you need one with 0,133C/W or two (one for each channel) with about 0,25C/W