CPU heatsinks in my Zen Amp

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Dear All,

this is my first post on this forum.
Let me quickly introduce myself: I'm belgian (from Brussels, the capital of Europe, of waffels, of beers & of sprouts). I'm 33 years old, married, 1 little child and I work in IT for a bank (but I'm a physicist). I'm an "audiophile" but I'm not rich --> I'm a DIYer.

OK I stop now... I don't need a date :)

My first realizations: a wonderful "Bride Of Zen" preamp with external power unit (wonderfull compared to the preamp part of my NAD C312), a marvelous external power unit for my MSB Link DAC (based on the MSB P1000 model).

Now I'm building a ZEN amp (v1) to marry with my preamp. And of course, you understood: I made an external power unit ;)
For the heatsinks I choosed to use 4 CPU coolers (Zalman 5100 AlCu), one by transistor (2xIRFP9140,2xIRFP240). Of course I removed the 4 stock fans (too noisy) and I replaced it with 2 "silent" 8 cm PAPST fans ("12 dB" rated, let say 20 to 24 dB in the real life).

I made some calculations, each transistor should dissipate about 35 to 40 Watt, this is much less than a AMD CPU at 2 GHz (80 Watt :redhot:)... My silent fans don't cool as much as the stock ones, but it should be enough (I need about 1°C/W by heatsink and they are rated 0.4 °C/W with the noisy fan).

I didn't finish yet my amp so I didn't test it...

So my questions are:

Does somedy already try this cooling solution ?
What do you think about this ?
Dont'you think it's a good idea ? Are you interested by some pics ?
Why "Classe A" should always be synonym of "fu..ing heavy black heatsinks" ?
Why don't use the computer technologies progress for the HiFi ?

Hi,