Complementary zen (zenv5)

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hello diyers,

I wish to build a class A amp, and do not wish to buy/make PCBs. So I am contemplating making the Complementary Zen (zen v5), which can easily be point to point wired. Now the question:

I have 6 ohm speakers which I do not wish to replace. How well will this amp work with 6 ohm speakers? Will I need to lower the output impedence? How can I do this? Can I parallel output devices? How (details please)? Or do I really have to bridge two amplifiers?

Looking at the schematic included with this post, it seems I can easily parallel more output devices. However, I'm not sure which parts of the circuit need to be "doubled". I guessing I need to add another set of R9 & R10 and R11 & R12, but what else? It also seems I could get more power this way. What do you think. I'm pretty new to this so require answers in english not ampish :)

Your help is most appreciated.

Cheers.

:cop:
The pic was removed. This is a link to the Complementary Zen article at the PassDIY site. See Figure 3.
:cop:

I think the Zen v5 is sufficient for 6 ohm load as it is, but if You want to add output devices the "doubbling" of mentioned resistors R7-12 is right, should be close tollerances (matched).
If You change Yor mind about PCB this layout works good:
Note that R numbers are not consistent with schematic, but easy enogh to see what´s what. R1 equals R9+R10

Attachments

• zv5board.jpg
    zv5board.jpg
    53.5 KB · Views: 855
More Qs + thanks

Thanks for the replies. Just wondering:

1. Do I need to halve R5 and R6 to provide more current to feed the additional fet gates?

2. So, does "doubling up" on the output devices halve the output impedence (and double the power if rail voltage and bias is the same - per device, but doubled in total, right)?