Sony vFET Illustrated build guide

I've got my front end up to 1.5V ( same process as getting my BA-3 FE preamp set up ), with ground to T18 as close to zero as I can get it. Also rechecked and adjusted G to T16 and G to T17 to keep it dialed in for my vfets.

One thing...this is my first time using single turn pots. I've read many jokes here about getting them in the right spot, but getting G to T18 close to 0 seemed to require a combination of screw driver weight, rotating it, and some voo doo. Is this normal? Seems to stay put once set, but I worry that moving the amp around could jar the finicky pots. Unnecessary paranoia?

Time to put the vfets in?

Last edited:
Ready for vfets

Also, I did all this using the amp's power supply, which ran about 31.8V totally unloaded, and 30V as it sits now - with everything but the vfets in and running.

Attachments

• 20171229_104838.jpg
    20171229_104838.jpg
    1,017 KB · Views: 486
Joined 2004
Paid Member
Single turn pots have fewer parts and have better long term stability.

See my (and other's) opinion as stated in posts #1763 and #3067 in the Sony VFET Amplifier pt2 thread.

Sony VFET Amplifier Part 2
Sony VFET Amplifier Part 2

What you can and should do is to slightly tap the pot's housing with the screwdriver to promote the pot to release any residual mechanical stress of the moving parts (pot...release stress, haha). That way you can see any changes in the setting while the meters are still attached.

6L6

Joined 2010
Paid Member
One thing...this is my first time using single turn pots. I've read many jokes here about getting them in the right spot, but getting G to T18 close to 0 seemed to require a combination of screw driver weight, rotating it, and some voo doo. Is this normal? Seems to stay put once set, but I worry that moving the amp around could jar the finicky pots. Unnecessary paranoia?