Help with simulation of the F5 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Gallery Wiki Blogs Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 18th August 2015, 04:24 PM   #1
4real is offline 4real  Netherlands
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Arnhem
Question Help with simulation of the F5

So, I might be looking into building an F5. To learn some things and also see what the various components are doing, I wanted to simulate the amplifier.

So I got myself Tina Spice from TI, and put the schematic in there. I found some models for the JFET's and the rest of the stuff was already present. All good so far

Click the image to open in full size.

So I virtually powered up the amp and played a nice 1kHz note. The trouble is, the output has a gigantic DC offset of more than 10 volts. I tried various settings of P1 and P2, but that did not do much. Also the waveform is a fair bit distorted:

Click the image to open in full size.

Now I know simulations have a fair bit of limitations. This is however a big difference with the real world. Therefore I must be doing something wrong. I did find an offset in other amps I tried to simulate (also MOSFET amps).

Furthermore, I'm wondering if anyone ever tied lateral MOSFETS from Semlab, for instance ALF16N20W/ALF16P20W? What would need to be changed to accomodate these? They also have a dual version ALF08NP16V5, which is only rated at 8A (per MOSFET), but might be used in a setup like the F5 Turbo V2 (so paralelling two of them)?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg F5.JPG (60.0 KB, 465 views)
File Type: png Screen Shot 2015-08-18 at 17.12.25.png (42.2 KB, 456 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2015, 04:31 PM   #2
Zen Mod is offline Zen Mod  Serbia
diyAudio Member
 
Zen Mod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ancient Batsch , behind Iron Curtain
use LTSpice
__________________
my Papa is smarter than your Nelson !
clean thread; Cook Book;PSM LS Cook Book;Baby DiyA ;Mighty ZM's Bloggg;Papatreasure;Papa... by Mighty ZM
  Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2015, 08:26 PM   #3
4real is offline 4real  Netherlands
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Arnhem
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zen Mod View Post
use LTSpice
Well, that helps Found a working model here.

Click the image to open in full size.

Now for my follow up questions.. Who knows? In the meanwhile, I'll play with the sim
Attached Images
File Type: jpg F5_spice.jpg (194.6 KB, 262 views)
__________________
Do diamonds shine on the dark side of the moon?
  Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2015, 10:06 PM   #4
Zen Mod is offline Zen Mod  Serbia
diyAudio Member
 
Zen Mod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ancient Batsch , behind Iron Curtain
you can find LTSpice models for laterals ..... play and think

already done , some prefer verticals , some laterals

just search on forum

__________________
my Papa is smarter than your Nelson !
clean thread; Cook Book;PSM LS Cook Book;Baby DiyA ;Mighty ZM's Bloggg;Papatreasure;Papa... by Mighty ZM
  Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2015, 10:11 PM   #5
4real is offline 4real  Netherlands
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Arnhem
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zen Mod View Post
you can find LTSpice models for laterals ..... play and think

already done , some prefer verticals , some laterals

just search on forum

Yeah, just found some of the semlabs models (just not for the dual version). They seem to work in the simulation, but distortion is nowhere near as good as the IRF's. It appears to be mainly 2nd order though, while the IRF's have much more 3rd. I'll play with that a bit more I guess

I also found the problem with the Tina model: the upper IRF was connected wrongly.
__________________
Do diamonds shine on the dark side of the moon?

Last edited by 4real; 18th August 2015 at 10:16 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 18th August 2015, 10:32 PM   #6
diyAudio Member
 
2 picoDumbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Blog Entries: 2
Laterals have less transconductance so less feedback if used in F5.
A few years ago I built a folded cascode front end but ran laterals as source follower.
It looks very similar to the Nelson's new SIT push-pull (Sony Vfet Pt2) amp except biasing is much simpler with laterals on the output.

Something like that is a very nice amp.

Last edited by 2 picoDumbs; 18th August 2015 at 10:38 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2015, 10:54 AM   #7
4real is offline 4real  Netherlands
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Arnhem
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2 picoDumbs View Post
Laterals have less transconductance so less feedback if used in F5.
A few years ago I built a folded cascode front end but ran laterals as source follower.
It looks very similar to the Nelson's new SIT push-pull (Sony Vfet Pt2) amp except biasing is much simpler with laterals on the output.

Something like that is a very nice amp.
Well, I think my analog electronics knowledge is a bit to far behind for that kind of stuff, and sadly, I currently don't have the free time to catch up. Far to much other stuff on my mind.

I did however tinker a bit around with simulations of the F5 and F5 Turbo (V2), and it is great fun. Conclusion is that it is just best to build the thing the way Pass designed it. It is about as good as it gets for people like me I guess

So suppose I'd like to build the F5. I'm using a 5 unit Open baffle (WBBMT) with active filtering. The woofer I'll do with a Class-D amp (have a few lying around). The two basses are paraled and are therefore 4 Ohms. The mid is 8 Ohms, and the tweeter is 4 Ohms (NEO3PDR). Therefore I need the F5 to be comfy at 4 Ohms. And I'd need six of them Power wise, I don't need a whole lot. Currently I'm using a tiny T-amp for the bass to tweeter, and that is loud enough for me. An F5 will play much louder still.

Now here is the thing: I'd like to put all six of them in a single case . I thought of the biggest case of hifi2000, with 4x0.19 C/W sinks. Pass says you need about 0.6 C/W per transistor, or 0.3 C/W per amp. If I do a quick calculation (correct me If I'm wrong here), the case would give me 0.285 0.3 C/W per amp. So I guess I'm good here?

Power supply... Well, I do have a 1kW SMPS. I only need to figure out how to lower the voltage quite a bit (working on that). It should be able to give me 16A of current per rail (19A peak). A quick calculation shows that this might be a tight fit? To tight? I could lower the bias to about 1A per device?
__________________
Do diamonds shine on the dark side of the moon?
  Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2015, 11:27 AM   #8
Zen Mod is offline Zen Mod  Serbia
diyAudio Member
 
Zen Mod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ancient Batsch , behind Iron Curtain
define needed power for each way-amplifier

then calc needed Iq for each

then you'll have overall dissipation
__________________
my Papa is smarter than your Nelson !
clean thread; Cook Book;PSM LS Cook Book;Baby DiyA ;Mighty ZM's Bloggg;Papatreasure;Papa... by Mighty ZM
  Reply With Quote
Old 24th August 2015, 12:50 PM   #9
4real is offline 4real  Netherlands
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Arnhem
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zen Mod View Post
define needed power for each way-amplifier
Who knows what one will ever need . I know that the current setup with the tiny T-amp delivers ample power. I'd like a bit more of headroom tough, and I'd like to keep the amps mostly the same in terms of Iq.

My first inclination would be to build a F5 with slightly higher rails (about 30Volts), and with a Iq of about 1 Amp. That would mean about 120W of heat per amplifier, and 12A of total current draw from the PSU with six channels.
__________________
Do diamonds shine on the dark side of the moon?
  Reply With Quote
Old 25th August 2015, 12:34 AM   #10
Zen Mod is offline Zen Mod  Serbia
diyAudio Member
 
Zen Mod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ancient Batsch , behind Iron Curtain


you'll not get mucho cojones with 1A Iq @ 4 Ohms

rethink ..... what power you need and in how much ways .........

take in account that lowest register is taking at least 60% of power

you can power them from same PSU/voltage , but with highest Iq for lowest F. , decreasing Iq going to upper F.

good plan is more than half work
__________________
my Papa is smarter than your Nelson !
clean thread; Cook Book;PSM LS Cook Book;Baby DiyA ;Mighty ZM's Bloggg;Papatreasure;Papa... by Mighty ZM
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Operating Vgs and Yfs matched 2SK1530/2SJ201 for the F5, F5 Turbo and F5X NicMac Swap Meet 20 26th January 2016 11:46 AM
Witch amplitude on F5 entrance (calculation check)\ or preamp amplification for F5 erez1012 Pass Labs 2 8th January 2014 08:44 AM
F5 Preamp Simulation Shoot Out Melon Head Pass Labs 18 11th August 2013 02:25 AM
Enhanced F5 / Light Version of F5 Turbo with biasing problem. CLiu Pass Labs 15 26th June 2013 08:16 AM
F5 SPICE Simulation?? bear Pass Labs 4 22nd December 2009 10:57 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:55 AM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2016 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2016 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2
Wiki