Aleph's Topology Questions

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I am new to the would of audio diy and to this forum. I am embarking on an Aleph 60 project. Having gone through a lot of readings (all Zens including Zv4, a lot of threads in this forum, etc.), I came across some questions. If they have been previously discussed somewhere before, I am sorry. It would be greatly appreciated if they can be answered. Here goes:

1. Regarding the output stage of the Aleph (cf. Q12-Q17 in the Volksamp 60 schematic), why is a common-source preferred to a source follower? As I understand, CS quite suffers from Miller capacitance. While its true that Miller capacitance is quite proportional to the load (which is low, 8 ohms, in this case), we need to consider the fact that this load (the speaker plus the Aleph current source) varies with the frequency. This should make up for a nonlinearity as looked into the gate-source capacitance in addition to the Cgs that's already been there.

2. Should the input (from line stage) ground go to the Star point or to the main PCB?

3. As I plan to do a few relays, I would like to know whether they have any conceivable effects on the quality of the sound?

4. I plan to wind the (air-core) 2.2 mH inductors in the (pi) PSU myself. Is there anywhere I can find the formula?

If my English sounds strange (or if some of the questions offend anyone in anyway), I'm so sorry.

Thank you guys. Thank you Mr.Pass for his generosity towards the diy community.

-Sean :confused:

Maybe I can give you some help with number 4.
The inductance in a long straight or toroidal solenoid of length l can be written as follows:
L = u0 * N * N * A / l
where
u0 = permeability in empty space (4*pi*10^-7)
N = number of turns of the wire
A = area
l = lenght

Remember to use the same units on both A and l!