F4 Turbo - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 18th May 2015, 02:39 PM   #1
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: San Juan
Default F4 Turbo

Read the articles on the F5 turbo. NP mentions that by only repacing the transformer to a 24v one the output of the F5 is increased. would this apply to the F4?

Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2015, 03:50 PM   #2
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
The F4 is different sort of amplifier and I am not sure it makes sense to make it a "turbo"
Why not explain to us what it is that you are trying to accomplish? There may be alternatives.
  Reply With Quote
Old 18th May 2015, 06:44 PM   #3
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: San Juan
I drive a pair of Quad 988's with my F4 in a small room of course. Got to listem to them with a Quad 909 amp. Over the week end a nd liked what mor power or control could do. Was wondering about having a little more control with the refinement of a first watt. I guess that the most prectical solution would be to get another F4.
  Reply With Quote
Old 19th May 2015, 02:27 AM   #4
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: midwest
What are you using as preamp?
__________________
Pass B-1 preamp, Pass F-5 Amp, Pass BA-3 Preamp, Pass BA-3 Amp, Pass Pearl 2 Phono
  Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2015, 06:00 PM   #5
The one and only
 
Nelson Pass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
The problems are two:

1) This presumes that you have a source which will swing the higher
voltage.

2) The input JFETs are near their voltage limit, so you can't really go much
higher with supply.

Of course you can bypass the input JFETs - they aren't that necessary if
you have a low impedance source.

Also, recall that you can run this balanced, which will get you into the
100 watt region.

  Reply With Quote
Old 21st May 2015, 08:19 PM   #6
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: San Juan
Default How about replacing the 300va 18v transformer

to an Antek 600VA 18v 18v one. According to Allen Wright in his book he mentions the improvement that a higher VA rated transformer would provide.

Thanks,

MV
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F-5 Turbo boards Jason The diyAudio Store 52 30th June 2014 08:19 AM
Turbo recone? djlivex PA Systems 0 23rd May 2012 02:52 AM
F5 Turbo ............. if only !!!!!! a.wayne Pass Labs 23 21st January 2012 02:24 AM
Turbo question Thawach Subwoofers 3 2nd March 2011 03:06 AM
E88CC turbo revintage Tubes / Valves 12 25th August 2010 11:52 AM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:54 PM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2015 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©1999-2015 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2