Schematic Question - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving

Old 23rd November 2014, 08:50 PM   #1
diyAudio Member

Default Schematic Question

I thought it might be more appropriate to create a new thread for this question than to have it hidden away in another thread. Anyway, I'm new to building amps and electronics in general, but I am interested in giving this project a try. I've got some electrical knowledge and am fine with a soldering gun. The De-Lite amp document only shows what one channel of the amp looks like, but as a beginner I am not confident in building it unless I know what the stereo version looks like. I've attached a drawing to see if I got the idea right. Proper star grounding scheme not included....

Click the image to open in full size.

I've see numerous photos of people using two B1's and two R1's, often with several more caps (C1 and C2)....is this necessary to make the most basic stereo version of this amp? I don't believe NP's own unit shown in picture on the first page of the pdf has that....correct?

Last, I read about many attempts at this project having hum at first, but if I understand enough, is that because everyone is using parts bin stuff and different chassis layouts? Meaning if I build the amp EXACTLY as it looks in NP's photo, with the EXACT same parts (same specs anyway), I would not have hum?

Last edited by soundwavesteve; 23rd November 2014 at 11:15 PM.
Old 23rd November 2014, 09:45 PM   #2
sreten is offline sreten  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member

Hi,

No. The power supply needs uprating. TBH you'd be much better
off looking at the "Death of Zen" (search) to learn something,

rgds, sreten.
Old 23rd November 2014, 11:22 PM   #3
diyAudio Member