Thinking About Building A Class A Amp, But Have Some Questions

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
I'm a newbie and would like to try one of those Class-A amps I've been hearing so much about...what kinda PSU are wqe looking at since class A has got low noise rejection?? and why do we use Mosfets instead of Bipolars...is Bipolar usuage possible?? and of course are matched stuff very important?? Sorry for a bit of OT...I understand these amps are at best 45% efficient (if it ever gets there...) so I'll need some BIG heatsinks....
And is building WITHOUT a PCB possible?? I.E I just mount everything on the Heatsinks since the circuit I've seen are pretty easy...and what kinda schematic are we looking at for the Aleph3?? sorry again for the many dumb0 questions...

Ex-Moderator
Joined 2002
li_gangyi said:
I'm a newbie and would like to try one of those Class-A amps I've been hearing so much about...what kinda PSU are wqe looking at since class A has got low noise rejection?? and why do we use Mosfets instead of Bipolars...is Bipolar usuage possible?? and of course are matched stuff very important?? Sorry for a bit of OT...I understand these amps are at best 45% efficient (if it ever gets there...) so I'll need some BIG heatsinks....
And is building WITHOUT a PCB possible?? I.E I just mount everything on the Heatsinks since the circuit I've seen are pretty easy...and what kinda schematic are we looking at for the Aleph3?? sorry again for the many dumb0 questions...
Li,

The answers to most of your questions can be found at the Pass Labs site here:
http://www.passlabs.com/aleph.htm
There are all the owners and service manuals for all the Aleph series amps. You also want to look at some of the early articles on class A designs. The articles on the Zen amps can be found at the PassDIY site here:
http://passdiy.com/amps.htm

Have fun,