Go Back   Home > Forums > >
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Blogs Gallery Wiki Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

F5Turbo Illustrated Build Guide
F5Turbo Illustrated Build Guide
Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 12th July 2018, 05:12 AM   #451
recepky is offline recepky  Turkey
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Istanbul
Hi
I placed fans and put the everything back. Turn on the electricity butt
Bias was 2.5mv. I measure the tp 1 2 and 3 4. Just for cruosity. There was no any signal between tp 1 and 2. And cut the electric off. Then turn on again. Now tp 1 and tp 2 was back. ????
I read 730 ohm between. Everything normal again. What hell is happening???

By the way I ran out off trimmer turns I Can not increase bias anymore above 170mv. ☹️
  Reply With Quote
Old 27th July 2018, 04:21 PM   #452
recepky is offline recepky  Turkey
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: Istanbul
Hi everybody

i solved the problem. i changed cascode transistors with new ones. Sa1145y and c2705y. Now i can properly set the bias. ))
But i blow out b channel mosfets. ((
i could not set the similar mv output from p and n channel. There was 100mv difference. Also the trimmers are very responsive. By the way before everything I changed the r5 and 6 to 2.2k.
  Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2018, 07:19 PM   #453
kpsthakur is offline kpsthakur  India
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Delhi
Quick one folks, does this amp need a preamp? For running a Sony CD player
  Reply With Quote
Old 4th August 2018, 07:25 PM   #454
Zen Mod is offline Zen Mod  Serbia
Official Court Jester
diyAudio Member
 
Zen Mod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ancient Batsch , behind Iron Curtain
F5Turbo Illustrated Build Guide
try without , just with pot inbetween source and amp

if it's loud enough , just add decent buffer after the pot

if it is not loud enough , you need preamp with few times amplification factor
__________________
my Papa is smarter than your Nelson !
clean thread; Cook Book;PSM LS Cook Book;Baby DiyA ;Mighty ZM's Bloggg;Papatreasure;Papa... by Mighty ZM
  Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2018, 06:37 PM   #455
kpsthakur is offline kpsthakur  India
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Delhi
I think my 2x(0-18) 600VA transformer seems anemic for v2, any chance I can try using 2(0-40) 600VA with Cascode for v2, I know we could easily use it for v3.
  Reply With Quote
Old 6th August 2018, 07:09 PM   #456
Zen Mod is offline Zen Mod  Serbia
Official Court Jester
diyAudio Member
 
Zen Mod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ancient Batsch , behind Iron Curtain
F5Turbo Illustrated Build Guide
possible , why not

though , it's always clever to keep voltage and current capability on same level ....... so just take care of having enough output parts
__________________
my Papa is smarter than your Nelson !
clean thread; Cook Book;PSM LS Cook Book;Baby DiyA ;Mighty ZM's Bloggg;Papatreasure;Papa... by Mighty ZM
  Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 2018, 08:33 AM   #457
kpsthakur is offline kpsthakur  India
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Delhi
Zen are you suggesting I increase the output MOSFET's, but then won't it become something like v3? Plan is to run it as v2 with standard P&N board pair per channel, possibly try biasing the amp a bit low
  Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 2018, 09:38 AM   #458
Zen Mod is offline Zen Mod  Serbia
Official Court Jester
diyAudio Member
 
Zen Mod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ancient Batsch , behind Iron Curtain
F5Turbo Illustrated Build Guide
I'm just saying that , depending of nature of intended load for them (speakers) , you must be aware of OS current capability ..... if load is tough - you need enough output pairs

if load is benign , do what you want ...... you're not in trouble

from personal experience - one of the worst things you can do is - to alter some construction , just to use something you already have .......
__________________
my Papa is smarter than your Nelson !
clean thread; Cook Book;PSM LS Cook Book;Baby DiyA ;Mighty ZM's Bloggg;Papatreasure;Papa... by Mighty ZM
  Reply With Quote
Old 7th August 2018, 10:13 AM   #459
kpsthakur is offline kpsthakur  India
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2016
Location: Delhi
Agree Zen, I will be using 4ohm speakers, which ideally should be good for v2's...again, I don't want to alter the construction stuff, just for the transformers sake.
  Reply With Quote

Reply


F5Turbo Illustrated Build GuideHide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Aleph J illustrated build guide 6L6 Pass Labs 2706 31st July 2018 11:03 PM
An illustrated guide to building an F5 6L6 Pass Labs 1004 26th July 2018 07:12 PM
ACA illustrated build guide 6L6 Pass Labs 142 10th July 2018 11:14 PM
diyAudio Power Supply Circuit Board v3 illustrated build guide 6L6 Power Supplies 688 4th July 2018 01:12 AM
Illustrated guide to the 4U deluxe Chassis 6L6 Pass Labs 3 16th November 2013 04:32 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 07:56 PM.


Search Engine Optimisation provided by DragonByte SEO (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Resources saved on this page: MySQL 14.29%
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©1999-2018 diyAudio
Wiki