Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 20th February 2014, 12:43 AM   #1
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Default F5 Fuse burn after connect ground to chassis

Hi
I connect all the GND from the pcb's to ground through the cl-60 and everything is ok.
But when I connected to chassis (heatsink) the fuse burn
i check 10 time's if there is short between thw component and the chassis and there is no short

edit: i measure some ac volt between GND and chassis, no dc.
edit2: strange... even whan i turn off the transformer switch i still see the ac volt between GND and chassis !!
edit3: whan the transformer is off but i back the GND to chassis the ac down to 0v
I seems to me that the fuse burn on the start power when the gnd connect to chassis.
Attached Images
File Type: png Untitled.png (83.1 KB, 189 views)

Last edited by erez1012; 20th February 2014 at 05:10 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2014, 05:10 AM   #2
Zen Mod is offline Zen Mod  Serbia
diyAudio Member
 
Zen Mod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ancient Batsch , behind Iron Curtain
pictures !

leave it out of mains until we solve this
__________________
my Papa is smarter than your Nelson !
tnx to clean thread ; Cook Book ; PSM LS Cook Book ; Baby Diyaudio FORUM ; Mighty ZM's Bloggg;I'm dumb ; Papatreasure
  Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2014, 05:29 AM   #3
Zen Mod is offline Zen Mod  Serbia
diyAudio Member
 
Zen Mod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ancient Batsch , behind Iron Curtain
measure resistance between main cable prongs and secondary

it must be infinite
__________________
my Papa is smarter than your Nelson !
tnx to clean thread ; Cook Book ; PSM LS Cook Book ; Baby Diyaudio FORUM ; Mighty ZM's Bloggg;I'm dumb ; Papatreasure
  Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2014, 05:50 AM   #4
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
its INF
the amp work fine But only when the gnd in the "air".
edit: I try to start with one transformer each time(i have for each channel)
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20140220_084252.jpg (646.4 KB, 176 views)

Last edited by erez1012; 20th February 2014 at 06:12 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2014, 06:22 AM   #5
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
two transformer
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_20140220_085911.jpg (529.9 KB, 163 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2014, 06:39 AM   #6
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Victoria,TX
Blog Entries: 1
Hi,
Check the voltage from the heat sink to chassis before connect it. If you have voltage it is possible that one of the output transistors it is touching or making contact with the heat sink.
  Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2014, 06:43 AM   #7
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
hi tauro
i have ac volt when the amp is off between the chassis and the gnd.
when the gnd is on "air", the transistor not contact the chassis.

now i make soft start and torn on each transformer not Together and the amp is fine !!
  Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2014, 10:07 AM   #8
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
now r17,19 burn
Attached Images
File Type: png Untitled.png (65.7 KB, 145 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2014, 10:34 AM   #9
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
the ztx short, maybe the r17,19 burn because this transistor
  Reply With Quote
Old 20th February 2014, 11:22 AM   #10
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
edit:
ok i think its the k170 that make the burn everithing
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Should I directly connect my signal ground to chassis ground? Bricolo Solid State 4 18th March 2014 09:42 PM
TT signal ground v. chassis ground and hummmmmmm texaslonghorn Analogue Source 0 25th November 2009 02:30 AM
Chassis, ground, earth: connect? starbase218 Solid State 3 14th November 2007 08:56 AM
Chassis ground blows fuse krzanik Tubes / Valves 51 9th May 2007 07:29 PM
Chassis Ground = Circuit Ground --> Problems? rhildenbrand Pass Labs 5 23rd April 2004 01:08 AM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:21 AM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2