Aleph J illustrated build guide

Getting near the end of my Aleph J project, it’s my first amplifier and has been a great learning experience, thanks everyone for all of your posts! Question on wiring both balanced and rca inputs in single chassis. I have some 6 conductor wire that is shielded and sports an uninsulated ground wire. I was going to run one wire each from +v rca and xlr terminating each to +v input on board, same with -v . Now I’m not sure if I should use the bare shield wire connected to the ground on the xlr and terminate on the chassis or use one of the other insulated wires in the package. From my reading here grounding is very important with respect to noise elimination, perhaps I should keep it simple and just use some standard wire. Does anyone see an advantage to the insulated cable?

I'm a noob to all this but I wouldn't ground that wire to the chassis. I think the XLR should be grounded to the board and such there should be only one grounded spot on the base plate that has the Cl60. I grounded mine on the board and its dead silent. In any event the masters will correct us both.....

Last edited:
I'm a noob to all this but I wouldn't ground that wire to the chassis. I think the XLR should be grounded to the board and such there should be only one grounded spot on the base plate that has the Cl60. I grounded mine on the board and its dead silent. In any event the masters will correct us both.....
I'm inclined to do as you've done Blk Dynamite, dead silent works for me.

Hi
I just started to build the Aleph J. Right now i work on the psu.
I have a question. I am shure it is answered in this tread. But i was lacy and hope someone would answer here so i dont have to search the whole tread :)
with 2*18vac inn to the psu. What should i measure between v+v- and between gnd v+ and v- I really hope someone can answer me :) :)