What amp to drive my Magnepan 1.6

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
These are 4 ohm planars that like a LOT of power to hear its full potential. I currently have them driven by a 600 watt per channel Class D amp and hotrod Mez DCB1 preamp. I also have a 250 watt per channel Class D amp that is warmer but does not control bass as much as the 600. So from what I can gather, Pass amps sound more powerful than what their spec. calls for. I have read that the F4 is a sweet sounding amp and from what I could piece together, the BA is more modular. But how do I get either to push out 100 watts per channel? I would like to house whatever solution in a single Deluxe 4U chassis from the the DIYAUDIO store and would like to keep costs down to a minimum.

I am new to amp building, can solder and follow instructions - I need advise as to what all I need to get to my target of 100 watts. Searching forums has not yielded any noob guides although 6L6 guides are great but for a beginner that wants to know how to piece it together, I came up short.

So to get it kicked off, I know a chassis with huge sinks is needed. A powerful transformer depending on pcb solution. PCB for either F4 or BA and if BA a gain stage pcb PLUS bias and output pcb. What about universal power supply available in the DIYAUDIO store? This should get me a build but from what I can tell F4 is only 25 watts per channel and I have no idea about BA - no specs are listed in the store. So how to get to my 100 watts?

So as you can see this is where I am struggling...

Thanks in advance
Neville

6L6

Joined 2010
Paid Member
So how to get to my 100 watts?

Contact member ' Zen Mod ' buy his "Pumpkin" preamp. Build it. This is a preamp that has sufficient gain and balanced voltage outputs to drive an F4 to max output.