How does the BOSOZ really sound?

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Forgive me, this is going to be a rather open ended thread (you guys probably get irritated with total newbies). I've searched the threads but could find little comparing how the BOSOZ sounds compared to commercially available products. I really enjoy the DIY process, and haven't the money to spend on any preamp resembling high end, but before indulging in such a project I'd like to know if it would get me alot closer to what im looking for sonically.
I replaced my old Sansui AU-D11 II integrated amp with an NAD C370, the Sansui had several issues because of its age and rough life, and didn't really work well with the way I wanted to set it up, but it really sounded good. The NAD in comparison sounds OK, but I really lost the midrange magic. Instead of the images feeling palpable, they seem drained. The soundstage is much bigger, but lacks the depth of the Sansui.
I thought upgrading the preamp would be a good start, and had looked at commercially available products like audio refinement and atoll, but started thinking of going the DIY route, found the pass labs site and this one and started getting excited. SOOOO, I invite anyone so generous to contribute their opinion about the sound of the BOSOZ to be as verbose as they want to.

Well, if it doesnt sound like anything, thats exactly what I'm looking for, not sounding like anything seems the pinnacle of what us crazy folk strive for. It begs the question though, if the BOSOZ doesn't sound like anything, and Mr. Pass says there are certainly better sounding preamps out there, does that mean that the BOSOZ doesnt sound like anything, but there are other preamps that sound less like anything? or the other preamps sound better in sounding like nothing? (thank you by the way, Mr. Pass for responding, even with such a "verbose" response, lol.)