Starting to build my first F5 Turbo V3 - Page 9 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 8th July 2013, 04:56 PM   #81
WalterW is offline WalterW  Netherlands
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Utrecht
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2bz View Post
Here are the results that I came up with for each of these particular vias:
Nice website...so around 6 ampere, that's more than I expected...
__________________
Pass F5, F5Tv3, ACA, Aleph J, DDDAC1794, DCB1, BA3-preamp, VFET CSX1.
  Reply With Quote
Old 8th July 2013, 06:02 PM   #82
2bz is offline 2bz  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by WalterW View Post
Nice website...so around 6 ampere, that's more than I expected...
Yeah, but 30C/watt of thermal resistance is also concerning! If I am running 12W per Mosfet, does that mean these little vias run at 380C, assuming a 20C ambient temperature?
  Reply With Quote
Old 8th July 2013, 07:11 PM   #83
WalterW is offline WalterW  Netherlands
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: Utrecht
No, through the vias goes the current when the diode is conducting, that's when there is more then approx. 0.4 volt over your source resistors. That will be only when playing loud or heavy bass peaks...
Normally they are not conducting.
__________________
Pass F5, F5Tv3, ACA, Aleph J, DDDAC1794, DCB1, BA3-preamp, VFET CSX1.
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th July 2013, 11:32 AM   #84
2bz is offline 2bz  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by WalterW View Post
No, through the vias goes the current when the diode is conducting, that's when there is more then approx. 0.4 volt over your source resistors. That will be only when playing loud or heavy bass peaks...
Normally they are not conducting.
So....To drill (more/larger vias) or not to drill, that is the question.
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th July 2013, 11:55 AM   #85
AndrewT is offline AndrewT  Scotland
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Scottish Borders
It's a double sided board.
What traces are on the other side of those diode leads?
__________________
regards Andrew T.
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th July 2013, 04:53 PM   #86
2bz is offline 2bz  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndrewT View Post
It's a double sided board.
What traces are on the other side of those diode leads?
On closer inspection, space is quite a bit more limited than I originally suspected. I can drill out the current via and solder a 1.5 MM copper wire in place or leave it as it is. Thoughts on either option?
  Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2013, 08:16 PM   #87
2bz is offline 2bz  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
I have been away from this project for a while but now I have all the components and have started putting together the frame/cooling loop. Thanks for everyone's help, to date. More to follow.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_2262.jpg (712.5 KB, 547 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_2263.jpg (730.9 KB, 511 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old 7th September 2013, 08:56 PM   #88
tinitus is offline tinitus  Europe
diyAudio Moderator R.I.P.
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Quote:
Originally Posted by WalterW View Post
See attached picture.
I don't know how much ampere can get through such a small hole. Maybe someone here knows?
looks like the hole has area/surface equal to the copper line

if anything only the edges might cause problems
__________________
sometimes we know very little, and sometimes we know too much
  Reply With Quote
Old 8th September 2013, 05:06 AM   #89
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by 2bz View Post
I have been away from this project for a while but now I have all the components and have started putting together the frame/cooling loop. Thanks for everyone's help, to date. More to follow.
Good to see you back 2bz. What PSU board are you using?

Nash
  Reply With Quote
Old 10th September 2013, 11:22 AM   #90
2bz is offline 2bz  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by nashbap View Post
Good to see you back 2bz. What PSU board are you using?

Nash
Super Heavy Duty Powr Supply Board CRC for Pass or Class A Dual Mono PCB | eBay
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Operating Vgs and Yfs matched 2SK1530/2SJ201 for the F5, F5 Turbo and F5X NicMac Swap Meet 14 2nd January 2014 10:28 AM
New Build Recommendation: F5 v3 or Aleph X chuckd Pass Labs 29 4th March 2013 07:48 PM
F5 turbo problems Rob Dingen Pass Labs 17 11th January 2013 08:38 PM
Is it wrong in F5 TURBO V3? lilinyi Pass Labs 12 23rd November 2012 06:28 PM
F5 Turbo ............. if only !!!!!! a.wayne Pass Labs 23 21st January 2012 02:24 AM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:29 PM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2