Best BOSOZ preamp parts selection thoughts

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Thanks again for everyone's help in a prior thread selecting the BOSOZ preamp to tackle as a first hifi DIY project.

I'm new to DIY hifi, but have an ancient background in digital circuits and can fabricate, solder, and assemble very well.

As a foundation, I already have Kristijan's BOSOZ preamp board, w/2 PSU boards http://web.vip.hr/pcb-design.vip/ to get started.

3 Questions:

1) Are there well established or obvious parts substitutions to consider from the start?

2) What are some of the key "newbie" pit falls or traps folks fall into?

3) For attuenation, I'm considering either the APOX relay http://www.apoxcontrols.com/apox2.htm or take the Resister ladder approach as used in the DIY Taiwan site http://babelfish.altavista.com/babe...=104&gid=7&gid2=&Sort=&Price=&lp=zh_en&tt=url
Any thoughts here would be appreciated as well.

If possible I'd like to leverage as much collective wisdom here as possible, and avoid the common mistakes and gain the obivious sonic improvements with the right parts.

I appreciate any and all suggetions, ideas, or experiences anyone is willing to share.

Thanks again!!!

-David

i built the BZLS using the parts as described in the article, and it
sounds great... so you don't need to substitute stock parts with
"better" exotic parts for excellent sound.

the stock pots are fine, just a little cumbersome when adjusting
the volume. Balanced pots for each channel would be nice. If you
can swing the Apox setup - that would be pretty sweet.

have fun! good luck - you won't be dissapointed.

How bout using this as the attenuator (DACT)? It has 4 ganged of potentio suitable for balance preamp. Saves you lots of trouble synchronizing Left & Right channel volume.

Now the question:
Which potentio works best as Volume control?
P1& P2 or P3&P4 ?