Factory Built F4 -double transformers - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 27th March 2013, 01:45 PM   #1
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: San Juan
Default Factory Built F4 -double transformers

What would the benefits, if any, be if I install a second Plitron 300VA transformer in my F4? It would have one serving each channel though the rest of the power supply is not independent for each channel.
So would I gain anything? Thanks.
  Reply With Quote
Old 27th March 2013, 01:53 PM   #2
Zen Mod is offline Zen Mod  Serbia
diyAudio Member
 
Zen Mod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ancient Batsch , behind Iron Curtain
two xformers in one C bank ?

hardly any improvement

put second Graetz + C bank , and make double mono

then you'll have improvement


ECO-S1EP153BA Panasonic Electronic Components | P6890-ND | DigiKey


but - be aware that DC voltage will rise slightly (less sag due to less load per xformer) , so with 25Vdc caps , you're there , in danger zone
__________________
my Papa is smarter than your Nelson !
clean thread; Cook Book;PSM LS Cook Book;Baby DiyA ;Mighty ZM's Bloggg;Papatreasure;Papa... by Mighty ZM
  Reply With Quote
Old 27th March 2013, 02:05 PM   #3
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Well, add in a second capacitor bank (resevoir) and you will get more of a resevoir of charge and with the second transformer (power supply) you'll be able to fill that reservoir quicker than with one power supply.

The only improvement that can be noticed is if you can actually empty that resevoir and fill it back quick enough versus not being able to fill it back up quickly enough or not having a big enough resevoir.

On the flipside because I am bad at explaining things is (from what I can figure out from previous readings) is a hugely massive capacitor bank and an overly huge transformer is not needed. If you can not drain/consume it all, you don't need it vastly overbuilt as there is a maximum to how much your transistor can use.
  Reply With Quote
Old 27th March 2013, 02:07 PM   #4
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Canada
Or what Zen Mod said up there... but yeah, to clarify my previous post, a capacitor bank and transformer for each side if I wasn't so clear.
  Reply With Quote
Old 27th March 2013, 02:51 PM   #5
6L6 is offline 6L6  United States
diyAudio Member
 
6L6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Denver, Colorado
Adding a second transformer wouldn't do much, if anything.

But the benefits of another F4 would be huge...

  Reply With Quote
Old 27th March 2013, 03:04 PM   #6
diyAudio Member
 
buzzforb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Burlington, NC
I disagree. A second transformer and PSU tends to help in a noticeable way. Although a second F4 is a wonderful idea.
__________________
...Shape the sound , Man!
  Reply With Quote
Old 27th March 2013, 03:24 PM   #7
6L6 is offline 6L6  United States
diyAudio Member
 
6L6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Denver, Colorado
A second transformer and PSU will be a huge benefit, certainly! The OP was talking about just adding another transformer.

I still vote for another F4
  Reply With Quote
Old 27th March 2013, 03:48 PM   #8
diyAudio Member
 
buzzforb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Burlington, NC
Agreed.
__________________
...Shape the sound , Man!
  Reply With Quote
Old 27th March 2013, 03:51 PM   #9
6L6 is offline 6L6  United States
diyAudio Member
 
6L6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Denver, Colorado
Speaking of F4, mine is working. Just needed to change one resistor.
  Reply With Quote
Old 27th March 2013, 03:55 PM   #10
diyAudio Member
 
buzzforb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Burlington, NC
Crank it up and add opa and you have something special. Even Mr ZM has funny per that would be great. Great customer device as well
__________________
...Shape the sound , Man!
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Improving a FirstWatt-built F4 jeffreybehr Pass Labs 9 28th February 2012 08:17 PM
DIY loudspeaker vs. factory built loudspeaker keyser Multi-Way 83 16th May 2011 12:27 PM
FS pair F4 amp boards built nvrgdenuf Swap Meet 2 16th December 2008 06:01 PM
F4 - Factory Built- First impressions Manolo47 Pass Labs 9 2nd August 2008 05:53 PM
FE126E back horn, 127E double BR : who really built it ? ow31 Full Range 29 14th June 2006 02:06 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:27 AM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2