Jim's Audio F5 power supply board - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11th March 2013, 05:47 AM   #1
Hikari1 is offline Hikari1  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Seattle
Default Jim's Audio F5 power supply board

Well, the diyaudio store is out of power supply boards for my F5 build. An ebay search led me to this...Jim's audio power supply board.

Seems like it's good quality...but I don't see any snubber capacitors? Big deal, yes or no? Also, the pads marked "HL"? Thermistor? lastly, the 2k2 resistors...I assume those are bleeders?

Man, all I need is a case (out of stock) and a PS board (out of stock) from the diyudio store and I could finish up my F5. Should I wait or should I risk using this PS PCB?

Lastly, I emailed Jim's audio. They "claim" to have Fairchild FQA19N20/FQA12P20 mosfets. I bought a pair of each. They are on thier way from Hong Kong now. I have no idea if they are fakes or not. Any ideas how to tell?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg $(KGrHqJHJFEFCcQOTgNvBQyFgFlT7!~~60_57.JPG (923.6 KB, 1065 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2013, 06:50 AM   #2
diyAudio Member
 
oneplustwo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Francisco
I was in your situation and used this board for my F5. No probs. Nice quality board. Some have had issues with the star grounding scheme, but IIRC, it was just a simple matter of connecting some of the ground pads together. I didn't have real issues myself but connected those point anyway.
__________________
My Projects
  Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2013, 06:51 AM   #3
jimbo51 is offline jimbo51  Australia
diyAudio Member
 
jimbo51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Melbourne
Must be good quality ...... says FIRST WATT on it!

Better to be patient and support the good guys.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2013, 07:47 AM   #4
omishra is offline omishra  India
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PNQ, MH
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimbo51 View Post
Must be good quality ...... says FIRST WATT on it!

Better to be patient and support the good guys.
I am sorry but I read "FTRST WATT"
  Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2013, 07:48 AM   #5
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
you can also use the aleph PSU Boards from chipamp.com. they support 6x 40mm caps, CRC/CLC, bleader resistors and bypass caps.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2013, 02:15 PM   #6
jimbo51 is offline jimbo51  Australia
diyAudio Member
 
jimbo51's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Melbourne
Quote:
Originally Posted by omishra View Post
I am sorry but I read "FTRST WATT"
What us down-under folk would call being a "smart ar5e", he knows what he wants to imply but trying to keep safe legally.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2013, 03:01 PM   #7
diyAudio Member
 
sachu888's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: India
Quote:
Originally Posted by omishra View Post
I am sorry but I read "FTRST WATT"
Good catch Om.

Regards,
Sachin
  Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2013, 05:39 PM   #8
Hikari1 is offline Hikari1  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Seattle
Jim's audio also has this board. Anyone care to comment?

Heavy Duty Power Supply Partial Kit Pass Amplifiers | eBay

Onboard rectifiers. I am not really an expert on rectifiers...are these worse than the block type rectifiers? I would replace the resistors. Also, would a f5 build require two of these boards? I only see one set of secondary in/out.

Audiosan: I looked at chipamp.com but could only find images of a PS board that uses 2 caps....
  Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2013, 05:51 PM   #9
mdynac is offline mdynac  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: illinois
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hikari1 View Post
Audiosan: I looked at chipamp.com but could only find images of a PS board that uses 2 caps....
go to the ORDERS page and scroll to the bottom listing, you will find the aleph power supply which will work for your F5 also.
__________________
Voyage MPD on Alix3/Objective DAC/DCB1 Mesmerize/AF4 xover
18" H-Frames
  Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2013, 06:08 PM   #10
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
her is a pic of the boards.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSC00318.JPG (460.3 KB, 905 views)
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stolen Trademark Amplifier from Jim's Audio on EBAY crazycloud Solid State 505 14th September 2014 01:41 PM
Jim's Audio Goldmund Telos 390 clone Tyimo Solid State 9 5th March 2013 03:28 AM
Jim's Audio F5 referenced kit. HiVi Guy Pass Labs 21 22nd November 2012 11:24 AM
Universal power supply board for audio amplifier siliconray Siliconray Online Electronics Store 11 13th February 2012 06:24 AM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:18 PM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2