Jim's Audio F5 power supply board - Page 2 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 11th March 2013, 09:56 PM   #11
6L6 is offline 6L6  United States
diyAudio Member
 
6L6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Denver, Colorado
The chipamp.com PSU board is very nice. I have used it before and happily will do so again.
  Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2013, 11:00 PM   #12
Hikari1 is offline Hikari1  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Seattle
Chip amp board looks good. Thanks for the pic. But I'd have to order new new caps (higher UF) due to the 6 vs. 8 caps. I assume the diode section of the board snaps off?
  Reply With Quote
Old 11th March 2013, 11:28 PM   #13
6L6 is offline 6L6  United States
diyAudio Member
 
6L6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Denver, Colorado
Diode section doesn't snap off. You can use external bridges if you like, or the on-board, discrete single bridge.

10mm lead spacing 35mm diamater caps fit well. Lots to choose from.

Use your current caps on your next project!
  Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2013, 01:49 AM   #14
bk856er is offline bk856er  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Have you looked at the tea-bag ps board?

BK
  Reply With Quote
Old 12th March 2013, 02:54 AM   #15
omishra is offline omishra  India
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: PNQ, MH
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hikari1 View Post
Jim's audio also has this board. Anyone care to comment?

Heavy Duty Power Supply Partial Kit Pass Amplifiers | eBay

Onboard rectifiers. I am not really an expert on rectifiers...are these worse than the block type rectifiers? I would replace the resistors. Also, would a f5 build require two of these boards? I only see one set of secondary in/out.

Audiosan: I looked at chipamp.com but could only find images of a PS board that uses 2 caps....
I don't know your purpose. But I built descrete rectifier board and each of the dual diode gets fairly warmer with small heatsink. Now I feel diode block without heatsink will get hotter.
Btw I have these boards purchased for some purpose. I did not use it, it looks fairly good quality though.
  Reply With Quote
Old 23rd March 2013, 07:24 AM   #16
Hikari1 is offline Hikari1  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Seattle
Well, I decided to point-to-point the power supply. Wish me luck. Still waiting on resistors and bypass caps in the mail...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 20130322_234842.jpg (589.2 KB, 516 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old 23rd March 2013, 07:53 AM   #17
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
6x nippon chemi-con 33.000uF 50V caps from apexJr?
  Reply With Quote
Old 23rd March 2013, 10:24 AM   #18
Zen Mod is offline Zen Mod  Serbia
diyAudio Member
 
Zen Mod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ancient Batsch , behind Iron Curtain
.
Attached Images
File Type: gif PSU.gif (8.0 KB, 487 views)
__________________
my Papa is smarter than your Nelson !
clean thread; Cook Book;PSM LS Cook Book;Baby DiyA ;Mighty ZM's Bloggg;Papatreasure;Papa... by Mighty ZM
  Reply With Quote
Old 23rd March 2013, 05:06 PM   #19
Hikari1 is offline Hikari1  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Seattle
Yes, 6x33000uf from Apex jr.

So, what is the best place for the resistors/bypass caps? After the first set of caps or after the 2nd?

Zen, your proposing a single ground location instead of my ground 'bus'. Actually I wanted to use a copper plate but couldn't find a suitable plate. Do you think the grounding design I am using will be a problem?
  Reply With Quote
Old 23rd March 2013, 06:16 PM   #20
Zen Mod is offline Zen Mod  Serbia
diyAudio Member
 
Zen Mod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ancient Batsch , behind Iron Curtain
it will be problem, most probably

copper plate is OK , but even then you must think where you are going to put wires
__________________
my Papa is smarter than your Nelson !
clean thread; Cook Book;PSM LS Cook Book;Baby DiyA ;Mighty ZM's Bloggg;Papatreasure;Papa... by Mighty ZM
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Stolen Trademark Amplifier from Jim's Audio on EBAY crazycloud Solid State 505 14th September 2014 12:41 PM
Jim's Audio Goldmund Telos 390 clone Tyimo Solid State 9 5th March 2013 02:28 AM
Jim's Audio F5 referenced kit. HiVi Guy Pass Labs 21 22nd November 2012 10:24 AM
Universal power supply board for audio amplifier siliconray Siliconray Online Electronics Store 11 13th February 2012 05:24 AM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:32 PM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2