Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 17th February 2013, 11:03 PM   #1
6L6 is offline 6L6  United States
diyAudio Member
 
6L6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Denver, Colorado
Default Building an F5 Turbo v2 (in-Progress)

Building the F5 Turbo v2

This is the "in-progress" thread for the official build guide of the F5Turbo. This is not the final guide.

I am building a V2, with 2 outputs per side, source diodes, and no cascode. DIYaudio store PCB are being used and it will all go into a 5U 400mm "BIG Amp Chassis"

The Firstwatt F5 Turbo article from Nelson Pass, in case you haven't seen it - www.firstwatt.com/pdf/art_f5_turbo.pdf

Anyway, on to the build.

Click the image to open in full size.
The Chassis in the shipping box and the PCB.

Click the image to open in full size.
While we are at it, here is a good photo of the Front-end board

Click the image to open in full size.
And here are the output boards. The component numbering on all these boards don't quite match up with the schematic, that will need to be clarified in the guide. In the time being, a bit of logic and inspection will let you figure it out.

Click the image to open in full size.
A large transformer.

Click the image to open in full size.

Building the PSU -

Click the image to open in full size.
Components - PCB, Caps, resistors, thermal shutoff, inrush limiter, line cap, ground loop breaker, rectifier diodes. Not shown are rail LEDs, bleeder resistors.
Why 2 PCB? to hold the (16) 10,000uf 50v capacitors.

Click the image to open in full size.
We will only need one Bridge PCB, and the rest can be cut off the boards.

Click the image to open in full size.
The PSU will be built on the 'DIY friendly' baseplate, shown here with some of the chassis hardware.

Click the image to open in full size.
The first PCB will hold only caps and the filter resistors. But there is only room for eight, and the board holds fourteen…

Click the image to open in full size.
So a bit of stacking is required.

Click the image to open in full size.

Click the image to open in full size.
The other board will have the LEDs and bleeders. Please note that the resistor pads must be jumpered.

Click the image to open in full size.
Testing the LEDs with a bench PSU

Click the image to open in full size.
The 2 PCB now stuffed. The left will have the input from the rectifier, the right will be the output to the amp.

Click the image to open in full size.
The other side of the PCBs

Click the image to open in full size.
Looking down at the first PCB

Click the image to open in full size.
Looking at the second. Again, please note the jumpers where there are the resistors.
__________________
Illustrated Build Guides - Pass F4 - Pass B1 - Pass F5 - Pearl 2 - O2 HPA - Hagerman Bugle 2 - Pass Aleph J - Me at BA '13

Last edited by 6L6; 18th February 2013 at 02:10 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2013, 11:13 PM   #2
a.wayne is offline a.wayne  United States
diyAudio Member
 
a.wayne's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Front Row Center
Wait , what ..!

Another baby , Whats with all the dinky toy 2 pr output builds

outputs aren't that expensive , c'mon guys , Do a 4 pr, its a turbo for bleeezus sakes , why not make some power !!!

__________________
On the floor looking at the great ones and drooling ..... :

Last edited by a.wayne; 17th February 2013 at 11:16 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2013, 11:16 PM   #3
6L6 is offline 6L6  United States
diyAudio Member
 
6L6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Denver, Colorado
Why? Three reasons -- Heatsink, heatsink and heatsink.
A 2pr stereo is about all the 5U can handle.
__________________
Illustrated Build Guides - Pass F4 - Pass B1 - Pass F5 - Pearl 2 - O2 HPA - Hagerman Bugle 2 - Pass Aleph J - Me at BA '13
  Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2013, 11:19 PM   #4
diyAudio Member
 
oneplustwo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Francisco
Yay! Another 6L6 build log! Looking forward to seeing the progress. I'm still very happy with my F5... and afraid of building a turbo for fear of not wanting the original anymore! Besides, I don't think I need the extra power or electricity bill increases. I have the Aleph Xs for that. :P
__________________
My Projects
  Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2013, 11:20 PM   #5
a.wayne is offline a.wayne  United States
diyAudio Member
 
a.wayne's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Front Row Center
Quote:
Originally Posted by 6L6 View Post
Why? Three reasons -- Heatsink, heatsink and heatsink.
A 2pr stereo is about all the 5U can handle.
Only if you increase the amt of class-a bias ....
__________________
On the floor looking at the great ones and drooling ..... :
  Reply With Quote
Old 17th February 2013, 11:25 PM   #6
diyAudio Member
 
buzzforb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Burlington, NC
6L6,
looks great, as usual.
I am interested to see how that bottom takes the weight of the toroid. I have a suspician you might have some give.

Wayne,
my V3 is at home on sinks. Just didt get the PSU's finished.
__________________
...Shape the sound , Man!
  Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2013, 12:08 AM   #7
PKI is offline PKI  United States
diyAudio Member
 
PKI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
I will make some photos how I reinforced the bottom cover.
  Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2013, 12:10 AM   #8
diyAudio Member
 
buzzforb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Burlington, NC
__________________
...Shape the sound , Man!
  Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2013, 12:13 AM   #9
Zen Mod is offline Zen Mod  Serbia
diyAudio Member
 
Zen Mod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ancient Batsch , behind Iron Curtain
Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzforb View Post
.......
I am interested to see how that bottom takes the weight of the toroid. ......
just fine - if screwed properly to side brackets

6L6 - be sure , later , to (edit) include link in first post in thread - directly to powering up/biasing procedure ..... which you are going to write , in detail

good for us greenhorns ...... and handy , for later

__________________
my Papa is smarter than your Nelson !
tnx to clean thread ; Cook Book ; PSM LS Cook Book ; Baby Diyaudio FORUM ; Mighty ZM's Bloggg;I'm dumb
  Reply With Quote
Old 18th February 2013, 12:23 AM   #10
diyAudio Member
 
buzzforb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Burlington, NC
Pots definitely need turning down if you have high Idss Jfets. If not, and amp is powered up, the fets are biased too high with pots set as they are from the vendor.
__________________
...Shape the sound , Man!
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F5 Turbo is posted Nelson Pass Pass Labs 635 6th April 2014 10:51 AM
F5 turbo heatsinks AudioSan Pass Labs 21 31st August 2013 01:47 PM
F5 turbo problems Rob Dingen Pass Labs 17 11th January 2013 08:38 PM
Best way to tune in BIAS F5 V2 Turbo Blink_PT Pass Labs 17 4th January 2013 10:40 AM
F5 Turbo ............. if only !!!!!! a.wayne Pass Labs 23 21st January 2012 02:24 AM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 08:35 AM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2