First Pass Build. F5. General Help Needed. - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 9th February 2013, 10:29 AM   #1
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Default First Pass Build. F5. General Help Needed.

Hello,
I have been collecting parts for this build for 6 months or so and finally started to put it all together. I am using a 400V, dual 18V Antek AS-4218. I had been planning on going full dual mono but i cannot seem to get my hands on another Antek transformer because their factory burned down or something. There are 4 68A 600V IXYS rectifier bridges. I know these are overkill, but it is all they had in stock when i ordered them. I have two power supply boards with 88,000 in capacitance on each side (total of 176,000).

I am having trouble figuring out how to go about wiring for this configuration... I attached a drawing of how i believe it can be done below. This is my first solid state build and i am just a little bit confused. Any help with wiring this pseudo dual-mono F5 would be much appreciated. I only need help with wiring from transformer secondary and forward.

This has been an extremely fun project and i have learned A TON! I can't wait to get this thing fired up.

Thanks in advance,
Madison
Attached Images
File Type: jpg DSC_0001.jpg (596.3 KB, 341 views)
File Type: jpg DSC_0002.jpg (561.1 KB, 326 views)
File Type: jpg 4bridges.jpg (3.5 KB, 339 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2013, 11:10 AM   #2
Zen Mod is offline Zen Mod  Serbia
diyAudio Member
 
Zen Mod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ancient Batsch , behind Iron Curtain
give us little bigger sketch

this one is thumbnailish in size
__________________
my Papa is smarter than your Nelson !
clean thread; Cook Book;PSM LS Cook Book;Baby DiyA ;Mighty ZM's Bloggg;Papatreasure;Papa... by Mighty ZM
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2013, 11:20 AM   #3
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Oops. hopefully this works. I think you can enlarge it a little bit now.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg 4bridges original.jpg (19.1 KB, 318 views)
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2013, 11:43 AM   #4
Zen Mod is offline Zen Mod  Serbia
diyAudio Member
 
Zen Mod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ancient Batsch , behind Iron Curtain
it will work - just go for it

don't forget to enjoy ........
__________________
my Papa is smarter than your Nelson !
clean thread; Cook Book;PSM LS Cook Book;Baby DiyA ;Mighty ZM's Bloggg;Papatreasure;Papa... by Mighty ZM
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2013, 11:48 AM   #5
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Ok great. I will complete all the wiring when i get off work. Hope to hear some music tonight. Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th February 2013, 12:33 PM   #6
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
just take your time with adjusting, warm up and final(ish) adjustment
  Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2013, 10:16 AM   #7
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
When grounding the power supply boards, do i need to use two thermistors at separate grounding points? Or two thermistors on (one on each side) that meet at Earth ground? I believe this is my last dilemma.. Any help would be great. Thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2013, 10:21 AM   #8
Zen Mod is offline Zen Mod  Serbia
diyAudio Member
 
Zen Mod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ancient Batsch , behind Iron Curtain
one ground - one ntc to chassis

you have two grounds , for my understanding
__________________
my Papa is smarter than your Nelson !
clean thread; Cook Book;PSM LS Cook Book;Baby DiyA ;Mighty ZM's Bloggg;Papatreasure;Papa... by Mighty ZM
  Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2013, 10:35 AM   #9
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Ok, so just to be clear. Both power supply boards ground to meet on one end of a thermistor? Also, should I leave the power transformer shield floating, or connect to it ground? I have seen both been done..
  Reply With Quote
Old 11th February 2013, 10:40 AM   #10
Zen Mod is offline Zen Mod  Serbia
diyAudio Member
 
Zen Mod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ancient Batsch , behind Iron Curtain
connect both shields directly to chassis in one point

connects both main audio grounds , each through own separate NTC , to one (common) point on chassis
__________________
my Papa is smarter than your Nelson !
clean thread; Cook Book;PSM LS Cook Book;Baby DiyA ;Mighty ZM's Bloggg;Papatreasure;Papa... by Mighty ZM
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Wattage of Pass F5 pdhanwada Pass Labs 132 28th January 2013 04:14 PM
Pass F5 Pair (Spuds) Spuds Pass Labs 14 20th November 2012 05:43 PM
Building my perfect speakers. General advise needed. running123 Multi-Way 10 30th November 2011 02:22 AM
Pass F5 Help Needed vdi_nenna Pass Labs 28 18th August 2009 01:06 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:53 PM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2