F5 bias problems - Page 2 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 13th February 2013, 02:32 PM   #11
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Israel
Thank you all for helping out!

Here is what I've got so far:

1-When measuring R12 (0.47 ohm) it starts at 1.5 ohm and quickly drops to 0.9- 1.0 ohm
2- When measuring R between outer legs of both trim pots resistance shifts up and is not stable.
3-When measuring V between outer legs of mosfet: Q3= 1.4 MV Q4= 9.5 MV
4-I've adjusted both trim pots 1 turn at a time and still P2 has no effect on both bias and offset
5-I'm not using a speaker protect circuit
6- the LED that should show power is on, does not turn on
  Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2013, 02:42 PM   #12
cviller is offline cviller  Denmark
diyAudio Member
 
cviller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Copenhagen
Blog Entries: 2
1.- 0,47 is typically a challenge for normal multimeters, so don't worry about that.
2 - as explained before
3 - i don't think you get much useful from measuring there - you could try referencing to gnd instead
4 - could be many things
5 - OK
6 - so that is at least a very tangible issue you could try to resolve.

But I would restate what Zen Mod said - post pictures
  Reply With Quote
Old 13th February 2013, 05:11 PM   #13
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
did you check your PSU? do you have +/-23-25V? if you dont have the +23-25V then the LED will not light up.
and post the schematic that you use. there is many differt ones out there. so R12,Q3 don't tell us anything without knowing wich schematic you'r using.

Last edited by AudioSan; 13th February 2013 at 05:18 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 27th March 2013, 12:28 PM   #14
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Israel
Hello good people

Just for future reference if this should happen to anyone else!
Problem solved! It turn out I used 47K ohms instead of just 47 ohms in R 13 & 14 (what an idiot)

Thank you all for trying to help out and offcours thank you Mr. Pass for such a beautiful sounding amp !

Just one short question, I'm using a shielded power cable with 3X 18 awg wirers

Is 18 awg too wimpy for a power amp? Does it matter which side of the cable the shield is connected?
  Reply With Quote
Old 27th March 2013, 01:32 PM   #15
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Default It happened to me too

It happened to me too. But I realized it pretty early during soldering. I had unsolder wrong one and solder the right one.
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F5 bias question richD Pass Labs 12 4th March 2013 12:57 PM
F5 bias AudioSan Pass Labs 1 12th October 2012 12:35 AM
F5 Bias Problem maartentje Pass Labs 150 3rd August 2012 11:10 AM
F5 problems Flemming J P Pass Labs 15 14th April 2012 01:37 AM
F5 bias AudioSan Pass Labs 26 20th March 2012 04:08 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 02:19 PM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2