F5 Finally Took The Plunge

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi Guys

Be gentle this is my first proper post on the forum. I registered back in 2011 and have been silently reading away on and off since then. I play around with electronics as part of my day job but nothing audio related. This is my first step into diy audio (been messing around with diy automotive ecu projects for the last decade but the goals are somewhat different to audio :D )

having read many of the projects on this site i have decided i rather like the work of Mr Pass especially his F5 design.

So far I have read just about every article and post i can possibly find on the F5 so I thought I would have a go at building one.

To start I plan to build a nice vanilla un-modded F5. It's simplicity really appealed to me and although technically I am not a total novice when it comes to general electronics, I am in the field of audio electronics. Once I have built a working amp my plan is to get a bit more adventurous and upgrade to a F5T but that's the long term plan.

So far i have ordered the following.

Diy Audio F5 V2.0 cviller boards
Diy Audio Filter Cap Board v2.0 JojoD818
Diy Audio Soft Start & Dc Protection Boards v2.0 JojoD818

4U HiFi2000 Case

F5 Board Components From Mosuer
https://gb.mouser.com/ProjectManager/ProjectDetail.aspx?AccessID=ac32cf6ded

Cap Board Components
https://gb.mouser.com/ProjectManager/ProjectDetail.aspx?AccessID=257b4a8472

Below are the things i am still working on/unsure of direction. If anyone can help me with any of the below i would very much appreciate it

1.) I am still weighing up pro's and cons with transformers (buy in mind for F5T or upgrade later? shielded or not?) are there any good suppliers that particularly stand out for audio in europe/uk? i have seen An-Tec but shipping is high.