Aleph J for Universal Mounting Spec

Just curious questions, does BA1 share the same qualities as AlephJ since both circuit's single ended class A and could share the same qualities, sonic wise. Is it not BA1 more modern or enhanced than AlephJ since it was developed 2009? What are the differences topology wise?

6L6

Joined 2010
Paid Member
Ok, sorry about the lack of information from me lately... I've been working. I'm a pilot, and when I'm out, I am genuinely out.

Anyway,

The original PCB house was practically impossible to work with, their Promo pricing was predicated on using a generic software, not using Gerber as they indicated. A forum member suggested another PCB fabricator in Silicon Valley, and the process is hopefully on it way as of last night. I should have the prototype boards in my hands next week.

I am going to build one prototype, buzzforb is going to build one as well.

I am looking for one more volunteer to build the Aleph J to verify that we have a good PCB. Anybody interested would need to be able to build it quickly, and preferably from stock they have on hand. If you think you can knock one together easily and quickly, PM me. I will be able to send you the last set of PCB and maybe a small handful of parts.

If you have something like an F5 that you would want to adapt the case and PSU to the Aleph J, that would be a fine project, as it would also show that once you have one DIY firstwatt amp, it's easy to try other configurations.

I have a nice Amplimo 625VA transformer for this project as well as about 20 IRFP240 MOSFETs, a matched pair of 2SJ74BLs from Spencer but no heatsink, caps and resistors. I am to pull the trigger on my caps order from Mouser.

The heatsink is the killer for me at the moment.

Last edited:
6L6