Go Back   Home > Forums > >
Home Forums Rules Articles diyAudio Store Blogs Gallery Wiki Register Donations FAQ Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

could the  F5C or F5T be run at 40v rails?
could the  F5C or F5T be run at 40v rails?
Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 26th November 2012, 02:39 AM   #1
JZatopa is offline JZatopa  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Chicago
Default could the F5C or F5T be run at 40v rails?

I'm curious if the F5C or F5T could be run at 40V rails? Is that still to high for the cascoded frontend?
__________________
There is no higher religion than truth
  Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2012, 04:59 AM   #2
AudioSan is offline AudioSan  Norway
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
hello. with cascoded FR. it can be run at +/-40V rails.
but you need at least 3 pairs of outputs to get anything out of it.
  Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2012, 05:33 AM   #3
dazed2 is offline dazed2  Canada
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by AudioSan View Post
but you need at least 3 pairs of outputs to get anything out of it.
what do you mean by that?
  Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2012, 05:54 AM   #4
AudioSan is offline AudioSan  Norway
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by dazed2 View Post
what do you mean by that?
becouse out over that, it can be hard for only one pair of input J-fets.
well. it can handle 4 pairs. 3pairs may be the better chose.
and with +/-40V rails. you want to get someting out of it. with somewath high bias. to get full out of +/-40V you need 2.4A bias
that is at 8ohms.

Last edited by AudioSan; 26th November 2012 at 06:02 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2012, 08:27 AM   #5
JZatopa is offline JZatopa  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Chicago
Could it be done with as little as 2 pairs?
__________________
There is no higher religion than truth
  Reply With Quote
Old 26th November 2012, 08:43 AM   #6
AudioSan is offline AudioSan  Norway
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
yes. for v2 turbo.
  Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2012, 03:14 AM   #7
Bksabath is offline Bksabath  United Kingdom
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Cascode vill take 40 V rails

But to keep thermal down (max 50 w disipation for each mosfet with proper heath sinks)
you wuld have to bias at 1 A for each mosfet with a bit of safety margin
So you run out of class A at about 8 V (but duble cek my maths) which ain't bad depending on speakers and listening abits.

To find out how much power you need cek this out
http://www.diyaudio.com/forums/multi...kers-need.html
  Reply With Quote
Old 27th November 2012, 03:54 AM   #8
Nelson Pass is offline Nelson Pass  United States
The one and only
 
Nelson Pass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
could the  F5C or F5T be run at 40v rails?
With adequate sinking, you could consider 1 pair, but you wouldn't want to
be abusing it.

  Reply With Quote
Old 29th November 2012, 04:44 AM   #9
JZatopa is offline JZatopa  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Chicago
Thanks for the help guys, unfortunately I had to pass on the transformer I was going to use. I guess my F5T is going to have to wait.
__________________
There is no higher religion than truth
  Reply With Quote

Reply


could the  F5C or F5T be run at 40v rails?Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
what class-D amps can run off of +/-90VDC rails? CharlieLaub Class D 16 27th October 2013 06:55 PM
LM4780 on 40V rails zdr Chip Amps 25 29th April 2008 07:35 AM
Chipamp request for Bi-Amp with SS amp, 40+40v supply rails -_nando-_ Chip Amps 7 16th June 2007 07:49 PM
LM4780 4ohm @ +/-40V rails alexcd Chip Amps 14 13th December 2006 05:27 PM
Will RevA run with 24volt rails? Wynand Chip Amps 13 22nd August 2006 07:06 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:25 AM.


Search Engine Optimisation provided by DragonByte SEO (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Resources saved on this page: MySQL 15.79%
vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2018 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©1999-2018 diyAudio
Wiki