Pass B1 CLONE build completed and happy

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Double Decker: Pass B1 CLONE build completed and happy

This is my first build I am posting here. I would like to thank Nelson Pass for making this available for us.

Let's start! I won't describe it in words. Rather than let pictures speak themselves.

All PCB boards were assembled for mounting in chassis. All PCB layouts are designed by me except source selector and of course PASS B1 Clone is from NP. Thanks to Uriah offered significant help during initial build of LSA.

Image591.jpg

I started with metal box and perforated screen for making DIY chassis.

Image592.jpg

After cutting in sizes time to bend and make it in shape to fit in everything.

Image593.jpg Image594.jpg

There was some issue with one source (CDP) causing drop of LF because of LSA impedance of 13KΩ exposed to source. To hide the LSA behind buffer I added SSP - DIY Super Simple preamp (from another forum). This is another version from previous one where I used SSP at the input to accept selected source and drive LSA within PASS B1 where B1 driving output power amp.

e.g. Source -> (SSP->[LSA->B1])->Power amplifier

Image732.jpg Image733.jpg

This sounded excellent. But SSP is having unity gain which was not my requirement, I wanted no (zero) gain, pure buffer. Hence I replaced SSP with another bulky B1 (shared PS with first B1).

Image745.jpg Image746.jpg Image747.jpg Image748.jpg

Now it looked like: Source -> (B1->[LSA->B1])->Power amplifier
in above statement, PS is not shown but present there and
() - inside preamplifier
[] - second B1