New to DIY - F5 Questions

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi. I'm a couple years late to the party, but I've decided to build a stock F5. As a DIY newbie, I'm faced with a number of challenges and I was wondering if you guys could help me out. In addition, it appears that most groupbuys pertaining to the F5 are now over, which makes some components difficult to source.

My plan is to build a B1 preamp and a stock F5.

Design Features​

Mezmerize B1 Preamp:

1. Remote-controlled as much as practical without compromising sound quality: Input selection, motorized volume pot, ON/OFF that can be tethered to the F5

- Does an RC circuit introduce noise/other design complications?​
    - The BOM asks for a 50VA - 2X12V transformer. Will this need to be increased to accomodate an additional circuit board?​
  2. Lightspeed Attenuator for volume control

- Is the Lightspeed still recommended as an attenuator? Secondly, is it possible to implement this with the motorized pot proposed above?​
  3. Shunt voltage reg (granted, since it's the Mezmerize DCB1)
  4. High quality components

- It appears I need four matched and six unmatched 2SK170-BL JFET's, according to the BOM. Is anyone still supplying matched JFETs, and are there certain JFET's that are more preferable to others? (Toshiba, IRF, etc.) I know Pass is still selling these on his website, but I'd like to use the diyaudio B1 board and so would have to buy an extra board if I went with Pass' JFETs​
    - The same question applies to B1 MOSFETs. It does not appear that any need to be matched, therefore sourcing these should not be as difficult. Is anyone still supplying these, and are there any types that are preferred?​
F5 Amp:

• Stock design as cascoded/increased outputs/turbo seems too ambitious for a beginner (unless you think that it's worth it to for the hotrodded versions)