Aleph 60 building thread - Page 5 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 3rd October 2012, 10:17 PM   #41
6L6 is offline 6L6  United States
diyAudio Member
 
6L6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Denver, Colorado
6 per channel? I.E., 3 current sources and 3 outputs?

Or 6 outputs and 6 current sources per channel? (You will need a fan.) (Or 2)

If you want to use just the ones that will mount on that board, because you have such tall heatsinks, I wouldn't break the boards and just use them as one piece.
  Reply With Quote
Old 3rd October 2012, 11:32 PM   #42
PKI is offline PKI  United States
diyAudio Member
 
PKI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
I am confused! :-( aleph 60, original layout has 12 outputs as I see, right? I was told earlier that I will be ok with two monoblocks(one on the photo above) for the amp. No, I got everything wrong? :-(. I can assume it as I am not an expert :-)
  Reply With Quote
Old 4th October 2012, 12:01 AM   #43
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
aleph 60 have 6 outputs and 6 current sources pr ch
you can do it with 4 of each too
  Reply With Quote
Old 4th October 2012, 12:07 AM   #44
6L6 is offline 6L6  United States
diyAudio Member
 
6L6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Denver, Colorado
I had to look at the Aleph60 schematic, and yes, it has 6 CCS fets and 6 outputs per channel.

It will heat your house. Neat!

You will need another set of the BrianGT boards in order to use them for their daughterboards. My understanding is that you can daisy-chain them in series to get as many outputs as you need.
  Reply With Quote
Old 4th October 2012, 12:20 AM   #45
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
6L6. yes you can but he don't need to order 2 sets. brian can also sell the boards with dobble set of output boards
  Reply With Quote
Old 4th October 2012, 12:21 AM   #46
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
i suggest to build it as monoblocks. they will give you a lot of heat. about 180-200W pr ch.
  Reply With Quote
Old 4th October 2012, 02:29 AM   #47
PKI is offline PKI  United States
diyAudio Member
 
PKI's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
So, I guess we have a bit of misunderstanding here. I will try to clarify:
The chassis I posted above is for one channel -- monoblock. It has two .2 c/w heatsinks. I am assembling one first and then copy it.
Here is the photos of what I have now:
Ready to be stuffed.
Click the image to open in full size.
Click the image to open in full size.

So my question is still: how to hook up these daughter boards in parallel in the best way?
  Reply With Quote
Old 4th October 2012, 03:06 AM   #48
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
aha. this seams just fine the two paralell boards are hooked up with 3 cables. (at the end of the board. and 4 cables from one board to the front end board this is marked on the front end board

EDIT: not the end of the boards. i'll find my boards and get back to you just a min.
  Reply With Quote
Old 4th October 2012, 03:10 AM   #49
6L6 is offline 6L6  United States
diyAudio Member
 
6L6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Denver, Colorado
It looks like the daughterboards have 2 sets of connections, so you can attach one to the main board, and then the daughterboards together. Do that for each side (CCS and amp)
  Reply With Quote
Old 4th October 2012, 03:15 AM   #50
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
okei. from the front end board to the first output board:
+c - +c. +v - +v. +g - +g. +s - +s. and then, from one output to another output:
+c -+c. +v - +v. +g - +g. and you are done same for the negative side
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
60 day 'Cool Down' (study?) period before newbies can post a new thread? Andersonix Forum Problems 24 16th May 2012 11:46 AM
My Aleph 60 Nat Riscica Pass Labs 39 21st January 2010 11:59 AM
Resistor R! for Aleph 60 redwine1118 Pass Labs 3 24th February 2005 12:43 AM
Aleph 60 instead of Aleph 2(newbie) mats73 Pass Labs 12 22nd March 2003 09:33 AM
aleph 60 janey Pass Labs 3 18th December 2001 09:02 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:41 AM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2