F6 Amplifier

I'm using the Cree C3M0065090D in my F6 also slightly higher voltage and bias. Plays every day and sounds fantastic. The main reason for changing to the Cree was the lower input capacitance and I wanted to get the high frequency response higher and because this is DIY. We do it because we can and Nelson showed us how.

Hi All

Pre-xmas lunch question, I have jfets J74B (10.8) & K170B (9.0) (purchased from the store at different times) but are they close enough as a pair for my F6 build?? I know jim said dont sweat over matching (10%) is close enough, these are just outside that. ?? I'm reluctant to shell out another $75 + by the time there landed in the UK.

TIA, have a good day ya'll

Kind regards from the UK

Last edited:
I built the F6 with all diy store parts except the fets which I bought from Calvin. I also used the store's psu with an antek 4218 trafo. The amp sounds better than great, and seems very strong, beyond it's wattage ratings. This is my first build of anything, and my first experience with class a amps. I'm building a BA3 pre with Salas ultraBiB shunt psu and iselect, with a motorised tkd pot from HiFi collective, with a remote system from Bent audio.

Sooo, soon I need to think about speakers. No more bookshelves, prefferably floor standing, with good bass, versatility, and a wide sweet spot. I listen to rock, jazz, vocal, and classical (the big black page symphonic stuff). I do like to get loud sometimes, but not ear splitting (not a kid anymore). Unfortunately, the speakers will have to be close to the wall, but not cornered. I have been looking at Troels Graveson's page, there are a few interesting candidates; the Fusion (woofers may not be readily available here), the Satori SBA 941, and now the the new Faital 3way.
DIY-Loudspeakers
Faital-3WC
Also the SB12.3 from Zaph audio, which are more affordable, and probably easier placement.

Zaph|Audio - SB12.3 3-Way Tower
Zaph|Audio SB12.3 ~ SB Acoustics 12", Dual Midrange, 3-Way