F6 Amplifier - Page 328 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 13th December 2012, 11:25 PM   #3271
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Davis,CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zen Mod View Post
probably culprit is in position and proximity of choke to mains xformer

what's PSUD sim sayin' ?

haven't simulated - will see how to do that
  Reply With Quote
Old 13th December 2012, 11:38 PM   #3272
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Davis,CA
just did hand simulation - moved inductors away from onetics but on top of mains - the AC at output dropped from 4mV to 1 mV

May have to rethink PSU - used this because I had xformers with 2x 30V secondaries and a set of inductors and wanted to get up and running
  Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2012, 12:32 AM   #3273
Zen Mod is offline Zen Mod  Serbia
diyAudio Member
 
Zen Mod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ancient Batsch , behind Iron Curtain
if you ask moi - that's best PSU

common mode choke is even better

re-think positioning , but stay with choke input PSU , if possible
__________________
my Papa is smarter than your Nelson !
clean thread; Cook Book;PSM LS Cook Book;Baby DiyA ;Mighty ZM's Bloggg;Papatreasure;Papa... by Mighty ZM
  Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2012, 12:41 AM   #3274
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Davis,CA
will look at positioning

thanks
  Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2012, 12:57 AM   #3275
Rush is offline Rush  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Tampa, Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by flocchini View Post
just did hand simulation - moved inductors away from onetics but on top of mains - the AC at output dropped from 4mV to 1 mV

May have to rethink PSU - used this because I had xformers with 2x 30V secondaries and a set of inductors and wanted to get up and running
I was wondering what your rail voltage is after the 8 mH choke input filter with 30 VAC windings on the transformer?
Do you have two chokes, one for each rail or can you put the choke on the common ground and use only one rated for twice the amps?

Rush
  Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2012, 01:07 AM   #3276
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Davis,CA
Rush

I have 2 inductors - one in the pos line and one in the negative.
Voltage after inductors is approx +/- 25 V

Best

Bob
  Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2012, 02:51 PM   #3277
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Pennsylvania
Blog Entries: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by lhquam View Post
Yes, that is essentially correct.

The simplest way to think about the role of the pot is as follows:
  • Let X be the ratio of the wiper-to-source resistance to the end-to-end pot resistance.
  • The effective AC degeneration resistance is X times the source resistance.
Ladies and Gents. Is there a certain constant ratio of H1 to H2 to H3 [say at 1KHz] which is a human trait; meaning this ratio which suits lhquam is equally transferrable to buzzforb or any DIYer worldwide regardless of race, age, sex, etc.? Is this ratio expected to be a constant in production F6; strictly from a quality control practice? Besides the F6 amps of Mr. Pass will be bought by diverse people who will use them with unknown loudspeakers and in unknown accoustic environments. Your thoughts please.

Best regards.
  Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2012, 03:01 PM   #3278
diyAudio Member
 
buzzforb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Burlington, NC
Nope. We are all too da^n peculiar to like the same thing
__________________
...Shape the sound , Man!
  Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2012, 03:13 PM   #3279
Zen Mod is offline Zen Mod  Serbia
diyAudio Member
 
Zen Mod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ancient Batsch , behind Iron Curtain
but Pa's will all be the same
__________________
my Papa is smarter than your Nelson !
clean thread; Cook Book;PSM LS Cook Book;Baby DiyA ;Mighty ZM's Bloggg;Papatreasure;Papa... by Mighty ZM
  Reply With Quote
Old 14th December 2012, 04:06 PM   #3280
The one and only
 
Nelson Pass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
And you know they aren't. Each design has a unique signature.

  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New F6 diy coming soon ? Nounours18200 Pass Labs 37 31st August 2012 05:35 PM
Hi Vi F6 box ioro Multi-Way 4 15th April 2012 09:27 PM
Whats happening with F6? jugoslavija Pass Labs 1 1st November 2011 08:39 AM
Hi-Vi F6 kkosiba Multi-Way 14 9th November 2007 09:38 AM
F6 traw Pass Labs 7 2nd November 2007 08:09 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 05:16 AM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2