F6 Amplifier - Page 305 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 23rd November 2012, 06:27 PM   #3041
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Davis,CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by buzzforb View Post
Only reaso why you need one is to understand why you like what you like. I just started playing with mine. Kinda fun I thought you might like this. How does it compare to your xformer loaded f4? I am about to try a J2 clone.
To my ears the naked F6 has a bit more detail and the soundstage is wider. Maybe a bit more dynamics - you were right about the challenges of playing. In the end I will go with the sound I like but how to duplicate concerns me
F4 is great with the headphones

best
  Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2012, 06:29 PM   #3042
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Davis,CA
Quote:
Originally Posted by lhquam View Post
Oscilloscopes usually will not help with distortion measurements. You need a good 24-bit 192kHz sound card and software.

If you need a good oscilloscope, I recommend a Tektronix 465. Used ones can be acquired through EBay for about $250 US.
Thanks

I will look for something I could use with my Mac
  Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2012, 06:30 PM   #3043
diyAudio Member
 
buzzforb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Burlington, NC
It is nice isnt it.
__________________
...Shape the sound , Man!
  Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2012, 06:36 PM   #3044
Zen Mod is offline Zen Mod  Serbia
diyAudio Member
 
Zen Mod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ancient Batsch , behind Iron Curtain
boyz

did I told ya that article is up ?

Attached Images
File Type: jpg today.jpg (135.1 KB, 369 views)
__________________
my Papa is smarter than your Nelson !
clean thread; Cook Book;PSM LS Cook Book;Baby DiyA ;Mighty ZM's Bloggg;Papatreasure;Papa... by Mighty ZM
  Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2012, 07:07 PM   #3045
Rush is offline Rush  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Tampa, Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by flocchini View Post
Thanks

I will look for something I could use with my Mac
If you have luck with software that works with your Mac, please PM me.
I have been directed by MS users to try this and that, but I don't ever see anything that I am sure will work with a Mac.

Rush
  Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2012, 07:09 PM   #3046
ichiban is offline ichiban  United States
space charged
diyAudio Member
 
ichiban's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Tonawanda
Default Balanced input F6 ?

Would this work as a balanced input F6!


BalancedInput F6.jpg
__________________

  Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2012, 07:11 PM   #3047
Zen Mod is offline Zen Mod  Serbia
diyAudio Member
 
Zen Mod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ancient Batsch , behind Iron Curtain
it will work

as Silencer ......... and maybe even Input Jfet Killer

__________________
my Papa is smarter than your Nelson !
clean thread; Cook Book;PSM LS Cook Book;Baby DiyA ;Mighty ZM's Bloggg;Papatreasure;Papa... by Mighty ZM
  Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2012, 07:13 PM   #3048
Zen Mod is offline Zen Mod  Serbia
diyAudio Member
 
Zen Mod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ancient Batsch , behind Iron Curtain
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rush View Post
If you have luck with software that works with your Mac, please PM me.
I have been directed by MS users to try this and that, but I don't ever see anything that I am sure will work with a Mac.

Rush
ask AR2

he's MacWacoo
__________________
my Papa is smarter than your Nelson !
clean thread; Cook Book;PSM LS Cook Book;Baby DiyA ;Mighty ZM's Bloggg;Papatreasure;Papa... by Mighty ZM
  Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2012, 07:16 PM   #3049
diyAudio Member
 
buzzforb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Burlington, NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by ichiban View Post
Would this work as a balanced input F6!


Attachment 313538
TRansformer kills common mode signals.....I think. That is one of its great benefits.

I am guessing, but i think i read that.
__________________
...Shape the sound , Man!
  Reply With Quote
Old 23rd November 2012, 07:17 PM   #3050
Zen Mod is offline Zen Mod  Serbia
diyAudio Member
 
Zen Mod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ancient Batsch , behind Iron Curtain
nope

that's no reason , in this case
__________________
my Papa is smarter than your Nelson !
clean thread; Cook Book;PSM LS Cook Book;Baby DiyA ;Mighty ZM's Bloggg;Papatreasure;Papa... by Mighty ZM
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New F6 diy coming soon ? Nounours18200 Pass Labs 37 31st August 2012 04:35 PM
Hi Vi F6 box ioro Multi-Way 4 15th April 2012 08:27 PM
Whats happening with F6? jugoslavija Pass Labs 1 1st November 2011 07:39 AM
Hi-Vi F6 kkosiba Multi-Way 14 9th November 2007 08:38 AM
F6 traw Pass Labs 7 2nd November 2007 07:09 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:01 PM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2