F6 Amplifier

I have been experimenting (both Spice and actual testing) with amplifier circuits using NO AC degeneration and cascoding to see if I can significantly reduce the 3rd harmonic (and 2nd also). The problem is to achieve DC bias stability without having AC degeneration. One approach is to use very large capacitors (0.5Farad or larger) across the source resistors. That appears to work fine except at frequencies below about 100 Hz.

Here is a circuit using the Jensen transformer and F6 style bias, but using both NMOS and PMOS output FETs and cascoded outputs. A similar design using only NMOS outputs has much higher 2nd harmonic due to the interwinding capacitances and the large AC swing on the upper transformer secondary.

Spice simulations looks good. The next step is to build it and test.

lhquam. I studied your schematic. It inspired me to embody the Jensen transformer of diyF6 in that of F5; a hybrid schematic of sorts. The modified schematic is attached. It is simplified by excluding cascoding. Here are its benefits.
  • DC servo capability to null voltage offsets at the output
  • Feedforward a portion of the inverted signals from the front end to the gates of the MOSFETs. This will improve the amp's high frequency response before applying Pass Feedback. Recall that in diyF6 the frequency response begins to roll off at 5 KHz; because the output stage amplifies the interwinding capacitance in the transformer to shunt the higher frequencies.
I'll apply [on paper] the above approach to diyF6.

Best regards

Attachments

• lhquam.jpg
    lhquam.jpg
    232 KB · Views: 334
lhquam. The attached schematic is that of a modified diyF6. It implements the approach suggested above. Clearly, diyF6 has an excellent stability of its DC output voltage as several DIYers talked about in recent threads.