SMPS for DIY Audio F5c - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 18th July 2012, 01:46 PM   #1
Einric is offline Einric  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Einric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Bozeman, MT
Default SMPS for DIY Audio F5c

I am planning to build an F5c with the newly announced DIY Audio chassis.
I already have my input FET's and will be placing my parts order soon.
I am planning on paralleled output FET's and cascoded input FET's

I originally figured on using a CRC power supply for this project but now I am wondering about a SMPS.

What should I look for?
Any suggestions about a good manufacturer or specs I need?

Thanks,
  Reply With Quote
Old 18th July 2012, 02:23 PM   #2
diyAudio Member
 
Osvaldo de Banfield's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Barrio Garay,Almirante Brown, Buenos Aires, Argentina
I work in SMPS repairing, and clearly, the best of them are Lambda. Specifications will be according to your requeriments, like voltage(s), current(s), external fault relays, remote on/off, etc. The 2 firsts are the most important.
__________________
LW1DSE
  Reply With Quote
Old 18th July 2012, 07:20 PM   #3
The one and only
 
Nelson Pass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
I advise that you get a supply current rated much higher than your projected
need.

  Reply With Quote
Old 19th July 2012, 04:49 PM   #4
Einric is offline Einric  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Einric's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Bozeman, MT
I was anticipating around 600VA worth of Toroid for the project.
The SMPS would be of similar capacity.

What differences could I expect with the SMPS V.S. Unreg. CRC?
  Reply With Quote
Old 19th July 2012, 04:53 PM   #5
The one and only
 
Nelson Pass's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
I haven't tried it on the F5 for lack of time. In general, I think they are
workable, especially if you give them some passive filtering. Often this is
a problem as the start-up circuits of many SMPS sense the filter capacitance
as a short on startup.

  Reply With Quote
Old 19th July 2012, 05:24 PM   #6
Zen Mod is offline Zen Mod  Serbia
diyAudio Member
 
Zen Mod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ancient Batsch , behind Iron Curtain
bingo! opportunity to use common mode choke

2x30mH at least , then drekload of 33mF buggers

__________________
my Papa is smarter than your Nelson !
clean thread; Cook Book;PSM LS Cook Book;Baby DiyA ;Mighty ZM's Bloggg;Papatreasure;Papa... by Mighty ZM
  Reply With Quote
Old 19th July 2012, 06:49 PM   #7
flg is offline flg  United States
diyAudio Member
 
flg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: North East
The big deal with these things is that they work with switching behaviour. This is something like a high voltage high current transient. This transient will send high speed load source and sink currents down the line to your amp. It will be reduced by the time it gets there due to R and C and L on the way to your amp, but also, the amp won't actually be abble to get a clean transient and will likely sag momentarily. You can get something that won't, but, I guess that was the suggestion, to get something bigger than you need. There are levels of transient response performance that can be had. I work with Intel based processor SMPs and we test with 100k-1M square wave loads per Intel spec. At over 100A!
But, there is much more to it. those big switching transients cause gobs of High freq and RF noise on the Rail. Yes, passive filters can smooth that. But, the supply itself will radiate RF EMI etc. etc. it will generate noise back into the mains if not built correctly and screw up your pre, your source, and anything else close to the same mains wire. It will radiate between component cases and across you interconnects etc. etc.
Having said that, and scared everyone away. Make sure the suupply is a couple feet .5M away from any audio interconnect or circuitry. Use Highspeed Polystirene or Polyprop or goood caps in your filter...
Actually, half the equipment and appliances in your home probably have SMPs supplies in them that are messing up your mains now
__________________
"It was the perfect high end audio product: Exotic, inefficient, expensive, unavailable, and toxic." N.P.
  Reply With Quote
Old 19th July 2012, 07:18 PM   #8
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
at least one everyone has a TV i guess and a PC.
  Reply With Quote
Old 22nd July 2012, 01:39 AM   #9
Anchan is offline Anchan  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Supposedly the Vicor brand smps are supposed to be really good. They go for about $500, but can be routinely had for $50 on eBay. With the "ripple attenuator module" supposedly ripple down to 4mv. I haven't used them in an amp yet, so just passing info along. Worth a look.
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th August 2012, 04:41 PM   #10
JZatopa is offline JZatopa  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Chicago
John65b built an F5 using laptop power supplies, I have heard it and it sounds very good. One problem you might run into is the need for a dual rail smps, they are not that common. You may have to use 2 power supplies to build a dual rail power supply.
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F5c Transformer Einric Solid State 0 2nd May 2012 05:24 AM
SMPS for audio. Boscoe Power Supplies 23 4th January 2012 08:12 AM
F5X from diyAudio Boards P-F5c-2V20e JBL4435 Pass Labs 54 16th November 2011 08:26 PM
schematic for audio smps? eem2am Power Supplies 0 15th July 2011 07:52 PM
SMPS for diy audio amps and multi-channel diy amps (and their power supplies) tlparker Solid State 18 31st August 2006 10:39 AM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 07:57 PM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2