Amp Camp Amp - ACA

Sorry, I'm a novice so can't comment on the suitability of something I haven't tried.

If you have the Cmoy's already, why not swap the headphone jack for RCA jacks and swap the R3 resistor to 2K ohms to get x6 gain. Have a look at Tangents website for more info.
Many thanks again NealJ, I can assure you, I'm even more of a novice!
I'll defo check that Tangents website.

Heh! My memory is working just fine! The original MS specs back then used a different standard, and it's that misleading figure that comes up on web searches. The sensitivity of the Pageants won't be more than 90dB, using the standard 2.83V (1Watt into 8 Ohms) input. I have one of the old digest format Hifi Choice magazines with measurements somewhere... I also owned a pair back in the day, and the DSB208 is a nice drive unit.

Hi,
I have just built my first ACA 1.6. I do have MeanWell 24V power supply, but it outputs only 22.5V, when measuring with my DMM.
My concern is, what should be bias voltage? 12V or 50%x22.5V=11.25V?

Cheers,
Max

Hi Max. Congratulations with your build. Many of the Meanwell power supplies have an adjustable output range. So, it might be possible to adjust your Meanwell to give 24V (if you want that) with a small trim pot. Give us the model number and we can check that, or you should easily spot the trim pot. However 1.5V extra will probably not make much difference.

For an 'uninitiated' like me... what prevents one from turning the ACA into a Headphone AMP? I mean... if I were to control the volume through a PRE, what is it 'not good', or at least 'not optimal' in driving a Headphone with a Power Amp such as the ACA?

Is it just that you would need to drop the volume down considerably on the PRE, therefore perhaps affecting sound quality? Is it just not something used often because of the lack of volume control?

I'm curious (and, as may now be obvious, preparing to build a Whammy :O :) )

Thanks, best regards,
Rafa.