Fresh F5 Build

Status
This old topic is closed. If you want to reopen this topic, contact a moderator using the "Report Post" button.
Hi All,

Almost finished with my first F5. Spent over 4 hours listening to it last night. It sounds great! Much more detail than the tube amp I've been using for the last four years. It's like a vail has been removed from the music. Soundstage is much more detailed and precise. Bass is much more controlled. Which makes sense considering the drastic increase in damping factor. My tube amp has on output impedence of 4.5 Ohm so really bad damping factor.

My build seems to be performing as expected. Gain is 15.4db. I wanted to check THD but alas it is lower than what my old HP distortion analyzer can measure. Measuring the internal oscillator I am starting out at 0.0068%. Higher than the 0.002% Mr Pass mentions for the F5. I took some measurements at different wattage ratings anyway but there are some inconsistencies in the numbers and nothing to really say the F5 is anything other than <0.002%. The only thing I saw is one channel seems to have slightly higher distortion than the other. Odd think is the one with higher distortion is biased slightly lower than the other.

Currently I'm running only around 1 amp of current but will increase to 1.3 after I replace the R11/12 and re-bias. I did a stupid thing of not zero-ing the trim pots before powering on and beginning biasing. They were set to around 2k Ohm so I was probably running around 2 amps for a short while. The resistors turned a bit brown so I ordered some replacements. Everything else seems to have survived the abuse OK.