My F5T V3 build - Page 9 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 26th October 2012, 03:06 PM   #81
Marra is offline Marra  United Kingdom
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Near Lincoln
The 2.2k resistors are as shown on the FistWatt power supply schematic at the bottom of this link.

http://www.firstwatt.com/pdf/prod_f5_man.pdf

Its how I built my F5 and there have been no problems.I haven't built an F5 turbo yet.
  Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2012, 04:52 PM   #82
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: midwest
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marra View Post
The 2.2k resistors are as shown on the FistWatt power supply schematic at the bottom of this link.

http://www.firstwatt.com/pdf/prod_f5_man.pdf

Its how I built my F5 and there have been no problems.I haven't built an F5 turbo yet.
I'm going to have to look to be sure, I may have tacked some onto the Daniel's PS boards I used....I just dont remember.

Russellc
__________________
Pass DIY B-1, Pass DIY F-5
  Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2012, 05:07 PM   #83
Rush is offline Rush  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Tampa, Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marra View Post
The 2.2k resistors are as shown on the FistWatt power supply schematic at the bottom of this link.

http://www.firstwatt.com/pdf/prod_f5_man.pdf

Its how I built my F5 and there have been no problems.I haven't built an F5 turbo yet.
Those resistors are good practice incase outputs are not turned on in initial power up and power down testing.
They are cheap and Mr. Pass doesn't know how a DIYer will set up his amp, maybe with a power supply in a separate case and a detachable cord to output case. A bleeder would be mandatory then.
We are talking about F5T V3 with in excess of 50 volts per rail.
Why not have bleeders?

Rush
  Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2012, 05:53 PM   #84
Tea-Bag is offline Tea-Bag  United States
not politcally affiliated
diyAudio Member
 
Tea-Bag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Kennebunk
Blog Entries: 7
Quote:
Originally Posted by Russellc View Post
I'm going to have to look to be sure, I may have tacked some onto the Daniel's PS boards I used....I just dont remember.

Russellc
Peter Daniels boards did not have bleeders, you had to put them across the caps on the underbelly.

The ones I made up do.

Click the image to open in full size.
__________________
Last 2014 Salas GB, Shipped|F5TC Boards and power supplies available PM| Hot-Rod DCB1 boards and kits available PM
  Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2012, 06:14 PM   #85
Nikitas is offline Nikitas  Greece
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Amsterdam
What happens if you don't have?Practically I mean? Is it bad for the caps, for example?
  Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2012, 06:16 PM   #86
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: midwest
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tea-Bag View Post
Peter Daniels boards did not have bleeders, you had to put them across the caps on the underbelly.

The ones I made up do.

Click the image to open in full size.
Yes, Iremember being told that, I just cant remember if I followed through!

Russellc
__________________
Pass DIY B-1, Pass DIY F-5
  Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2012, 07:17 PM   #87
diyAudio Member
 
bobodioulasso's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Odysseas View Post
What happens if you don't have?Practically I mean? Is it bad for the caps, for example?
The amp doesn't care but your fingers might have to.
  Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2012, 07:17 PM   #88
Rush is offline Rush  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Tampa, Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by Odysseas View Post
What happens if you don't have?Practically I mean? Is it bad for the caps, for example?
No, not bad for caps, they will eventually drain down due to internal resistance.

Bad for you when you grab the rail voltage inside the amp you see is unplugged and find 100 volts across the rails, much to your dismay!

I have been shocked with a tube amp with 400 volts and I was dismayed! I had one hand in my pocket though, so I am still here to talk about it. I actually forgot it was turned on while I had it upside down. Bleeders don't replace good common sense.

Rush
  Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2012, 09:14 PM   #89
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: midwest
Yes, my P-P 6550/KT-88 tube amp has 600+ on the rails, and it will play for a short while after power down, the caps hold so much juice.

I think the point Andrew is making is that with these Class A amps, they draw full current all the time, and on switch down they drain VERY quickly? Or I think that's what he means, post #67, #71 and #75.

Russellc
__________________
Pass DIY B-1, Pass DIY F-5

Last edited by Russellc; 26th October 2012 at 09:18 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 26th October 2012, 09:21 PM   #90
Tea-Bag is offline Tea-Bag  United States
not politcally affiliated
diyAudio Member
 
Tea-Bag's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Kennebunk
Blog Entries: 7
bleeders are cheap insurance against some scenarios.
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F5T Premium kit GB buzzforb Group Buys 647 9th September 2014 07:26 AM
GB for F5T Convertible amplifier boards Tea-Bag Group Buys 127 13th July 2014 07:48 PM
V3 trident coolhead Twisted Pear 7 14th March 2012 03:18 PM
Lepai V3 with TDA8566 Electro-Chip Chip Amps 4 3rd January 2012 06:04 PM
LAB Subwoofer v3.0 hulkss Subwoofers 3 23rd May 2004 09:27 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:42 AM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2