F5 PSU - Page 2 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 27th April 2012, 11:33 PM   #11
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
VT67. they are from chipamp.
aleph psu boards. on the bottom of the order sheet.
  Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2012, 01:43 AM   #12
nrg2009 is offline nrg2009  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Detroit, born and raised in the netherlands.
Audiosan, how did you connect the two heatsinks together? Did you just mount half the fets on one sink? Would you consider it possible to use just one sink per channel, since half your sink doesn't seem to do much?
  Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2012, 01:55 AM   #13
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
hello. they are just thight together.
no you need 2 of them. its just that the outher halfs dont got to warm.
the outputs cant carie the heat that long. if the center outputs is wired outside the boards to the last 10-12cm of the heatsink. then it can handle around 150W pr side.(dissepation)
  Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2012, 02:04 AM   #14
nrg2009 is offline nrg2009  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Detroit, born and raised in the netherlands.
Oh no! AudioSan, i checked out the chipamp web site and bought the psu and amp board.... i think I'm going crazy... what am i getting myself into... I'm also in a GB for the F5 turbo... how many amps is too many?
  Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2012, 02:08 AM   #15
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
hehehehehe nrg
your bit by te pass bill
i have those boards too and F5 turbo v3. and alephJ and 8x chipamp LM3886. and 2xUcD400 that i dont use yet
roflol

Last edited by AudioSan; 28th April 2012 at 02:13 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2012, 02:14 AM   #16
nrg2009 is offline nrg2009  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Detroit, born and raised in the netherlands.
.
What sink would i need for that amp board i just bought? Would one of those sinks per channel 6 inches high do the job? This is too crazy... i was also thinking of a true chip amp, should be feasible after my aleph build... however, i want to be class A all the way . What have i done.... . You mind posting a photo of those amp boards? You havent build them yet? The boards were a steal!

Last edited by nrg2009; 28th April 2012 at 02:16 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 28th April 2012, 02:25 AM   #17
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
hehe
the boards from chipamp? you an build whatever aleph you want with them.
aleph30 you can use same sinks as i have on my F5 on "steroids"
they will be perfekt in fact. you can do with 5" to. but just go for 6"
and mount the fets 2/3 from the bottom. 3 on each heatsink
  Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2012, 01:39 PM   #18
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: tucson
any idea on what C9 is exactly?, what type of cap and what value?
  Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2012, 02:19 PM   #19
Zen Mod is offline Zen Mod  Serbia
diyAudio Member
 
Zen Mod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ancient Batsch , behind Iron Curtain
X rated cap , intended for use in mains circuits

3n3 , 250Vac rated
__________________
my Papa is smarter than your Nelson !
clean thread; Cook Book;PSM LS Cook Book;Baby DiyA ;Mighty ZM's Bloggg;Papatreasure;Papa... by Mighty ZM
  Reply With Quote
Old 17th May 2012, 03:02 PM   #20
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: tucson
Thanks
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Need help with a F5 PSU mistake anilva Pass Labs 25 23rd May 2011 07:42 PM
F5 PSU Fuse drcg Pass Labs 0 18th April 2011 11:55 AM
FS: Cviller F5 P.C.B with PSU bchristmas Swap Meet 1 11th September 2010 02:16 AM
F5 psu layout OliG Power Supplies 5 2nd April 2010 10:52 PM
Bpa300, f5, psu, lm4780 for sale chatziva Swap Meet 16 5th October 2009 08:37 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 04:40 PM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2