F5 turbo heatsinks - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 18th April 2012, 02:25 AM   #1
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Default F5 turbo heatsinks

hello. i'm starting F5 turbo v3 now.
i'm loocked at heatsinks USA's 10.80" profiles. 6" high.
so 20x6" pr side. i need to desepate around 200w pr channel.
the sinks can't do the job by themself. i need some heattrnasfer
what to use? 10mm copper? or just move the center outputs outside of the boards? one of 2

Last edited by AudioSan; 18th April 2012 at 02:27 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 18th April 2012, 11:13 AM   #2
rdk845 is offline rdk845  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Yea, This is why we have that single mosfet boards for F5T....

I bought some copper bar from McMaster.com for spreader, but they are (being copper) expensive....
  Reply With Quote
Old 18th April 2012, 12:12 PM   #3
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
i know. but i don't want 9 boards pr monoblock and 1km cable
yes. copper is expensive. thats why i tinking of moving the 2 center mosfets out of the board
  Reply With Quote
Old 18th April 2012, 05:31 PM   #4
a.wayne is offline a.wayne  United States
diyAudio Member
 
a.wayne's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Front Row Center
Forget the sinks , that's a draw of 1600 watts @ idle for the Pr, can you handle that ....
  Reply With Quote
Old 18th April 2012, 10:16 PM   #5
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
what? where did you get that number?
  Reply With Quote
Old 18th April 2012, 11:03 PM   #6
a.wayne is offline a.wayne  United States
diyAudio Member
 
a.wayne's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Front Row Center
A 200 watt / ch class-a amp bias will pull 1600 watts at idle , I had one... Personally I don't see any reason to have one again , 50 - 80 watts class-a /ch will do thank you ....
  Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2012, 12:16 AM   #7
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
read my first post one more time.
first off. they are monoblocks.
there is not 200w output.
and 4 times dissepation on idle. not very likely in a F5.
  Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2012, 12:29 AM   #8
diyAudio Member
 
buzzforb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Burlington, NC
For V3 i would be looking at 8-10" minimum length. 20" depth. Will still be hot. What do your boards look like? Look at PassLabs for ideas of size in comparison to power.
__________________
...Shape the sound , Man!

Last edited by buzzforb; 19th April 2012 at 12:32 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2012, 12:34 AM   #9
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
it is uktoecutter's boards. and the sinks is fine.
same as i use for my F5 with 30% higher bias. that one draws 100W pr ch.
and it can do much more if i can spread the heat better.
  Reply With Quote
Old 19th April 2012, 12:36 AM   #10
diyAudio Member
 
buzzforb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Burlington, NC
V3 will dissipate 240w per channel. With only 30V+/- rails. That is a lotof heat. 6" inches is going to be too little i believe based on my experience with their sinks.
__________________
...Shape the sound , Man!
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F5 Turbo Circuit Boards chchyong89 Pass Labs 2347 14th July 2014 02:19 PM
F5 Turbo is posted Nelson Pass Pass Labs 635 6th April 2014 10:51 AM
F5 turbo problems Rob Dingen Pass Labs 17 11th January 2013 08:38 PM
Is it wrong in F5 TURBO V3? lilinyi Pass Labs 12 23rd November 2012 06:28 PM
F5 Turbo ............. if only !!!!!! a.wayne Pass Labs 23 21st January 2012 02:24 AM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 06:19 PM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2