My F5 Lives!!!!!!! - Page 2 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 6th April 2012, 10:45 AM   #11
a.wayne is offline a.wayne  United States
diyAudio Member
 
a.wayne's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Front Row Center
Quote:
Originally Posted by AudioSan View Post
thats a standar F5 with 30% higher bias. but stil +/-24V rails.

EDIT: F5v2. CViller boards. (not turbo v2)
36 watts rms@8 , sounds like you are using 4 ohm speakers , small room and listen moderately (82db avg din) ...
  Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2012, 12:36 PM   #12
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
8ohm. not to big room.
  Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2012, 12:49 PM   #13
fab is offline fab  Canada
diyAudio Member
 
fab's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by dantwomey View Post
...Now to my first impressions. In my system the F5 has a warm and liquid midrange that gives this amp a very lifelike smoothness. But this smoothness comes at a price. The high end is softened and less detailed and lacks the sparkle of my gainclone. If I could restore this sparkle and detail without any accompanying glare this would take the F5 up a notch for me. ...
Hi

I have built a Gainclone LM3886.
I have built a standard F5 (no input cascode).

If you want the soundstage, smoothness and sparkles, try:
F5 meets Buzquito

You can run this amp with about up +/- 30 Vdc to get a little more voltage swing.

The bass is not as tight as the Gainclone though but you are right about the missing soundstage of GC compared to F5.

Fab

Last edited by fab; 6th April 2012 at 01:16 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2012, 02:19 PM   #14
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by 6L6 View Post
Check your bias. It might not be stable once things get all warm and toasty.
Once assembled my amp has no room to check anything. I setup bias using a spare heatsink and the PS from this amp. The heatsinks get nice and toasty with myself only being able to leave my hand on for the required ten seconds!

Regards,
Dan
  Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2012, 02:21 PM   #15
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by AudioSan View Post
thats a lack of gain. when you run out of power, your amp has started clipping.
It's probably my preamp. At full power things are very smooth with no clipping or 'bad sounds'.

Regards,
Dan
  Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2012, 02:23 PM   #16
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
then it is lack of gain.
  Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2012, 02:27 PM   #17
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Canada
Quote:
Originally Posted by a.wayne View Post
36 watts rms@8 , sounds like you are using 4 ohm speakers , small room and listen moderately (82db avg din) ...
Actually my speakers are 10 ohm in a very large (18' x 27') room.

Click the image to open in full size.

Click the image to open in full size.

Click the image to open in full size.
  Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2012, 03:44 PM   #18
diyAudio Member
 
bear's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: New York State USA
ur room is a bit live...

the F5 has no strain in the sound of highs...so you may be playing it much louder than you think...

_-_-bear
__________________
_-_-bear
http://www.bearlabs.com -- Btw, I don't actually know anything, FYI -- [...2SJ74 Toshiba bogus asian parts - beware! ]
  Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2012, 04:01 PM   #19
diyAudio Member
 
oneplustwo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: San Francisco
I don't see a F5 in those pictures...
  Reply With Quote
Old 6th April 2012, 04:25 PM   #20
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: midwest
Quote:
Originally Posted by dantwomey View Post
Once assembled my amp has no room to check anything. I setup bias using a spare heatsink and the PS from this amp. The heatsinks get nice and toasty with myself only being able to leave my hand on for the required ten seconds!

Regards,
Dan
If I understand you correctly, that's a problem. Bias will vary with whether or not the top is on, and you cant check it on the assembled amp? Time to start over. You need to be able to get to and measure bias with the amp assembled, and be able to get to the adjustment pots. This is probably why your amp has no "sparkle"......Should be clear and transparent with plenty of sparkle, some complain of too much...Hopefully I misunderstood?

Russellc
__________________
Pass DIY B-1, Pass DIY F-5

Last edited by Russellc; 6th April 2012 at 04:28 PM.
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Tetra lives!!!!! MrBurd Tubes / Valves 6 2nd October 2012 12:32 AM
She lives! Psychobiker Tubes / Valves 2 19th July 2008 11:49 PM
It lives! pjanda1 Chip Amps 1 21st May 2005 12:24 AM
How the other half lives harvey Everything Else 9 27th February 2003 12:55 AM
The Mini-A lives! Thomas Pass Labs 27 23rd November 2002 09:51 PM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:27 PM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright 1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2