F5 bias - Page 2 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 20th March 2012, 07:26 AM   #11
Zen Mod is offline Zen Mod  Serbia
diyAudio Member
 
Zen Mod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: ancient Batsch , behind Iron Curtain
that's cheating - 2+2 mosfets per channel

so - crank them , up to 50% of iron power
__________________
my Papa is smarter than your Nelson !
clean thread; Cook Book;PSM LS Cook Book;Baby DiyA ;Mighty ZM's Bloggg;Papatreasure;Papa...© by Mighty ZM
  Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2012, 12:00 PM   #12
diyAudio Member
 
bobodioulasso's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
You may also need more capacitance in the PSU as ripple will increase when drawing more current.
  Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2012, 12:31 PM   #13
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
it's 6x12.000uF pr.ch.
ZM: hehe. thats not cheating it's spreading the heat
will do

Last edited by AudioSan; 20th March 2012 at 12:33 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2012, 12:58 PM   #14
diyAudio Member
 
bobodioulasso's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Which is not a lot.
A stock F5 needs 30mF per channel rail.
You may have to double this i you double the current.
Let's see.
  Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2012, 01:29 PM   #15
gadut is offline gadut  Indonesia
diyAudio Member
 
gadut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Jakarta, Indonesia
nice build, can't wait to start mine anyway which one is better configuration, CCCC R CC or CC R CCCC ? but it's for my aleph30 with 2pcs talema 2x18V 225VA and 12pcs 15.000uF, so each channel will be supplied by 90.000uF which already exceeds aleph30 design which is 60.000uF per channel
  Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2012, 01:32 PM   #16
diyAudio Member
 
jacco vermeulen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: At the sea front, Rotterdam or Curaçao
Send a message via Yahoo to jacco vermeulen
=> C-R-CC =>
__________________
The buck stops Here
  Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2012, 02:07 PM   #17
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by gadut View Post
nice build, can't wait to start mine anyway which one is better configuration, CCCC R CC or CC R CCCC ? but it's for my aleph30 with 2pcs talema 2x18V 225VA and 12pcs 15.000uF, so each channel will be supplied by 90.000uF which already exceeds aleph30 design which is 60.000uF per channel
i also have some aleph30 boards
have to build them soon
  Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2012, 02:10 PM   #18
AndrewT is offline AndrewT  Scotland
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Scottish Borders
24 off 15mF for two channels could be arranged

CRCLCCCC per channel per rail
__________________
regards Andrew T.
  Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2012, 02:14 PM   #19
gadut is offline gadut  Indonesia
diyAudio Member
 
gadut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Jakarta, Indonesia
go go go..wouldn't aleph30 better due to single ended configuration? my preliminary research on articles
  Reply With Quote
Old 20th March 2012, 02:14 PM   #20
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by bobodioulasso View Post
Which is not a lot.
A stock F5 needs 30mF per channel rail.
You may have to double this i you double the current.
Let's see.
it's not double current. more like 30% rise.
ripple is 3.59A eatch cap.
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Initial setting of F5 bias--help, please! CanAm Man Pass Labs 30 23rd June 2014 01:12 PM
F5 bias question richD Pass Labs 12 4th March 2013 12:57 PM
F5 Bias Problem maartentje Pass Labs 150 3rd August 2012 11:10 AM
Weird F5 bias issue JZatopa Pass Labs 20 25th June 2011 03:37 AM
new f5 bias problem crazycody1993 Pass Labs 36 5th May 2011 12:03 AM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 10:57 PM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2