Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 9th January 2013, 04:45 PM   #931
AndrewT is offline AndrewT  Scotland
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Scottish Borders
Quote:
"mils"? .001 inch? Right, mV
Prompts my question:
Does "mil" come from milli inch?
Or something completely different?
We use "thou" as short for thousandth of an inch.
__________________
regards Andrew T.
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2013, 04:55 PM   #932
flg is offline flg  United States
diyAudio Member
 
flg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: North East
Let's see, my dual mono F4/BA3 output stage has 33k/33k .1ohm 33k/33k for all 4 rails. That's 132,000uF/rail. 528,000uF for the 2ch
I don't mind it dimming the lights when I turn it on, but I hate it when the music dims the lights!
__________________
"It was the perfect high end audio product: Exotic, inefficient, expensive, unavailable, and toxic." N.P.
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2013, 05:00 PM   #933
flg is offline flg  United States
diyAudio Member
 
flg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: North East
Supprising you would even bother with our antiquated "inch" Andrew. I don't really know. We very often use thou and I accept that but we also use mil and I have no idea why. It's wrong?
But, then we would be jumping to microns and micro inches??? I think I'll give up on this explaination before i'm 10X to deep
__________________
"It was the perfect high end audio product: Exotic, inefficient, expensive, unavailable, and toxic." N.P.
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2013, 05:03 PM   #934
AndrewT is offline AndrewT  Scotland
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Scottish Borders
Just as well I didn't ask for an explanation of where circular mils came from !

And certainly nothing to do with "micron"

Quote:
The SI base unit for length is the metre.
1 metre is equal to 1000000 micron.
__________________
regards Andrew T.
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2013, 05:07 PM   #935
diyAudio Member
 
noSmoking's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Texas
oopppsss MiliVOLTS,lol.

Last edited by noSmoking; 9th January 2013 at 05:31 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2013, 05:07 PM   #936
BigE is offline BigE  Canada
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by Renron View Post
284,000 Good Lord
PICS!
dazed2 has more than that in his plain old F5. I'm sure there are others with still higher amounts.
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2013, 05:19 PM   #937
Renron is offline Renron  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Renron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sacramento
Is there a point of useless returns? 1/2 Farad? 1 F?

Andrew
My father was an aerospace machinist his entire professional life. He often spoke of "Mils" and was referring to "thousandths of an inch", I wish he were still here to ask why?
Country should have gone metric when I was a teenager..........dumb Yanks.
__________________
"If it doesn't work properly, hope it catches on fire"- Nelson Pass @ BA3
"I fired up the prototype. Literally." The Prophet Pass.
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2013, 05:50 PM   #938
billyk is offline billyk  United States
diyAudio Member
 
billyk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: North Central Mass, USA
From Oxford Dictionary of Units and Measures:
Mil:
A 1 000th part, such that 1 000 of them make a whole.
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2013, 05:57 PM   #939
dazed2 is offline dazed2  Canada
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by BigE View Post
dazed2 has more than that in his plain old F5. I'm sure there are others with still higher amounts.
nah I only have 282KuF in the F5.
Its not that much really. only 56.5J of energy...
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2013, 06:13 PM   #940
zoe is offline zoe  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Santa Rosa ca.
I just called antek to see if my trany shipped. Nice lady said it's still in stock as they are tranning new employes so things are moving slow.. I ordered it on 28th of dec. She said they would ship it out today. Glad I called.
__________________
be good
zoe
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F5 Turbo is posted Nelson Pass Pass Labs 635 6th April 2014 10:51 AM
B1 builders thread Bas Horneman Pass Labs 694 25th February 2014 06:29 PM
F5 Turbo Circuit Boards chchyong89 Pass Labs 2327 8th January 2014 02:14 PM
F5 turbo problems Rob Dingen Pass Labs 17 11th January 2013 08:38 PM
F5 Turbo ............. if only !!!!!! a.wayne Pass Labs 23 21st January 2012 02:24 AM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 12:13 PM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2