F5 Turbo Builders Thread - Page 93 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 9th January 2013, 04:06 PM   #921
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
no no no that will be disaster. you don't want a ground loop thru your transformer.
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2013, 04:07 PM   #922
Renron is offline Renron  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Renron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sacramento
Sorry my bad, it has been corrected.
How is that different than the above built TX? With both "ends" covered with the chassis?
Just trying to learn, not argue.


AudioSan,
How many uF are you planning on using?
Ron
__________________
"If it doesn't work properly, hope it catches on fire"- Nelson Pass @ BA3
"I fired up the prototype. Literally." The Prophet Pass.

Last edited by Renron; 9th January 2013 at 04:13 PM.
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2013, 04:13 PM   #923
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
on that build, the transformer is only connected to the inner plate.

on the v3, it will be 4x68.000uF pr monoblock.
for the v2 it will be 4x33.000uF pr channel.
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2013, 04:41 PM   #924
zoe is offline zoe  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Santa Rosa ca.
BigE There was just one piece 45" long I cut it on my table saw I had to cut it from both sides with multiple passes. There was a lot of holes that I filled with jb weld
it worked out fairly well. Painted the peices with stove paint and strap them together
with a 3/8" gap so fins don't touch in the center
I don't get the ground loop?
__________________
be good
zoe
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2013, 04:50 PM   #925
Renron is offline Renron  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Renron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sacramento
Ground loop was from an incorrect transformer mounting design I had posted, I removed the reference, it is correct now.

AudioSan, or whomever,
Is that because the mounting bolt that goes through the center is connected EM through the bolt? Like making a screwdriver magnetic? What if the bolt were Nylon?
Ron
__________________
"If it doesn't work properly, hope it catches on fire"- Nelson Pass @ BA3
"I fired up the prototype. Literally." The Prophet Pass.
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2013, 04:53 PM   #926
nrg2009 is offline nrg2009  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Detroit, born and raised in the netherlands.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tea-Bag View Post
NRG, the 1000VA unit, just take the same + wires and solder or whatnot together, and same with -, and you got a 1000VA tranny with 500VA each side. Double current ya!
Tea-Bag, I'm still learning, so please explain what is a better configuration:
I'm building a dual-mono setup (1 toroid with 4*25V feeding 2 PSU boards)

Each mono will have a dual rectifier bridge, so I will have a total of 4 rectifiers to feed. My toroid will have 4 pairs. So it is better to:
1) have one pair to one rectifier bridge, or
2) double pairs to a rectifier bridge (which would have 2 pairs feeding 2 rectifier bridges).

Thanks!
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2013, 05:04 PM   #927
diyAudio Member
 
noSmoking's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Texas
Hi Guys,
I got my V2 proto's from the store ,going today,Playing very well happy with the results,Everything fell right into specs,bias adjustments are precise,adjust right to it,I don't have a distorion analizer but I got the bias real close and used P3 and my meter across the speaker to adjust P3 got it to.0001 mili's,dc offset,I'm happy!
Been running about 2 hrs ac/dc steevie Ray,Fets are running about 110 F at 300 mils on the bias,
I might build some more of these,lol.
I had a little problems in the begining but I caused them CRS kicking in ,lol.But all the markings ,silk are good ,I like the big traces too,let's you desolder a few times without the trace leaving the board,It's dead quiet ,and sounds good ,good bass!
I did get some help from Variac and AudioSan,thier posts were very helpful and also all the fine people on this site!THANKS
I used some new caps from Apex too.worked out well I used 8x33,000 and 2 I had 10,000 that's per channel,lol.284,000 if I did that right!
Have a good Day!
NS
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2013, 05:17 PM   #928
zoe is offline zoe  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Santa Rosa ca.
sweet! got any pictures?
__________________
be good
zoe
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2013, 05:39 PM   #929
flg is offline flg  United States
diyAudio Member
 
flg's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: North East
Quote:
Originally Posted by noSmoking View Post
Hi Guys,...Fets are running about 110 F at 300 mils on the bias,...Have a good Day!
NS
No Smoking, No Smoking? 110F, I guess not but, you have room for higher bias and better sound From my experimentation, you should be able to get to 130F-150F on the FETs before any worries (probably 55C on the heat sink is 150F on the FET). I see about 10 degrees from FET to sink, YMMV.
"mils"? .001 inch? Right, mV
__________________
"It was the perfect high end audio product: Exotic, inefficient, expensive, unavailable, and toxic." N.P.
  Reply With Quote
Old 9th January 2013, 05:42 PM   #930
Renron is offline Renron  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Renron's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Sacramento
284,000 Good Lord
PICS!
__________________
"If it doesn't work properly, hope it catches on fire"- Nelson Pass @ BA3
"I fired up the prototype. Literally." The Prophet Pass.
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F5 Turbo Circuit Boards chchyong89 Pass Labs 2363 27th September 2014 03:10 PM
B1 builders thread Bas Horneman Pass Labs 696 14th July 2014 01:57 PM
F5 Turbo is posted Nelson Pass Pass Labs 635 6th April 2014 11:51 AM
F5 turbo problems Rob Dingen Pass Labs 17 11th January 2013 09:38 PM
F5 Turbo ............. if only !!!!!! a.wayne Pass Labs 23 21st January 2012 03:24 AM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 03:52 PM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2