F5 Turbo Builders Thread - Page 73 - diyAudio
Go Back   Home > Forums > Amplifiers > Pass Labs

Pass Labs This forum is dedicated to Pass Labs discussion.

Please consider donating to help us continue to serve you.

Ads on/off / Custom Title / More PMs / More album space / Advanced printing & mass image saving
Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Old 23rd December 2012, 02:04 AM   #721
anilva is offline anilva  India
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Bangalore
Default What caps for V3

I am struggling to come to a conclusion on what type and value of the PSU caps I need to use per rail per channel of Turbo v3. I tried the NP suggested 10000uF, 63V caps in CCCCRCCCC for each rail in the V2 variant and I still got hum related to ripple. I am saying that this is ripple related hum because it disappears at lower bias levels. The Toroid I have used for V2 is a 1000VA, 24V at secondaries.

Either my caps are fake or are not upto the quality expected. What is the spec I should look for in terms of ESR and Ripple Current? Is there a minimum value I need to look for? Also any suggestions on the brand and model of the caps which are affordable for a DIYer? I have seen some fancy caps being sold for over $150 per pair, cannot afford that.

I may be asking questions which are asked over a thousand times on this forum, but I am looking for help from a F5T perspective. Also I am not an expert in caps and power supplies. Please bear with my ignorance.

Thanks.
__________________
DIY F5, F5T, F6, Aleph J, Fostex 206 based BLH, Altec Onken with 515B LF & 288H HF, Technics SP10 MKII & EMT938 turntables
  Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2012, 02:58 AM   #722
6L6 is offline 6L6  United States
diyAudio Member
 
6L6's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Denver, Colorado
With that much capacitance I suspect that you might have fake or very low quality caps.

You don't need to pay exorbitant amounts for caps, but it is nice to know that you are getting genuine parts. Panasonic, Nichicon, Rubycon, Cornell-Dublier all make caps in that value and although not inexpensive, nowhere close to $75 each.

Something else occurred to me - how are your grounds set up? My first F5 was hummmm prone until i adjusted the location of the PSU and speaker ground connections...
  Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2012, 03:53 AM   #723
BigE is offline BigE  Canada
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by AudioSan View Post
bigE those numbers are correct. exept for the last one. the rail voltage is to low to reach 144W at 8ohm. same for number 2 and as buzzbord said. transformer rating of 3times dissipation is a good way to go. 2 times is minimum. i like 3 times. that gives you more headroom and lower temp in the transformer. but when a transformer reach a certain size, then bigger is not allways better
I can't get 144 Wrms(288 peak) out of a 50 Volt rail? Why not? 50 volts through 8 ohms is just over 6 amps.

6*6*8 = 288..... What am i missing?

buzz,

Thanks for the ESP site reference, I'm going to check it out.
  Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2012, 04:06 AM   #724
Rush is offline Rush  United States
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Tampa, Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by anilva View Post
I am struggling to come to a conclusion on what type and value of the PSU caps I need to use per rail per channel of Turbo v3. I tried the NP suggested 10000uF, 63V caps in CCCCRCCCC for each rail in the V2 variant and I still got hum related to ripple. I am saying that this is ripple related hum because it disappears at lower bias levels. The Toroid I have used for V2 is a 1000VA, 24V at secondaries.

Either my caps are fake or are not upto the quality expected. What is the spec I should look for in terms of ESR and Ripple Current? Is there a minimum value I need to look for? Also any suggestions on the brand and model of the caps which are affordable for a DIYer? I have seen some fancy caps being sold for over $150 per pair, cannot afford that.

I may be asking questions which are asked over a thousand times on this forum, but I am looking for help from a F5T perspective. Also I am not an expert in caps and power supplies. Please bear with my ignorance.

Thanks.
I get the lowest ESR, and the highest ripple current of the size and value I find. I use Panasonic from Mouser:

ECE-T1JA273FA Panasonic Electronic Components | Mouser

At $20.48 each, fairly cheap when you figure 27,000 uF at 63 Volts, 6.59 amps ripple current, and ESR: 0.017 ohms.
That would be $7.59 per 10,000 uF.

Rush
  Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2012, 04:14 AM   #725
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
BigE.
you will not get 50VAC on the output with 50VDC rails
but you are not far off
  Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2012, 05:47 AM   #726
anilva is offline anilva  India
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Bangalore
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rush View Post
I get the lowest ESR, and the highest ripple current of the size and value I find. I use Panasonic from Mouser:

ECE-T1JA273FA Panasonic Electronic Components | Mouser

At $20.48 each, fairly cheap when you figure 27,000 uF at 63 Volts, 6.59 amps ripple current, and ESR: 0.017 ohms.
That would be $7.59 per 10,000 uF.

Rush
Thanks. Looked at the caps. Seem pretty good. Digikey is cheaper by $5 each. Ordered 16 of them.

Cheers.
__________________
DIY F5, F5T, F6, Aleph J, Fostex 206 based BLH, Altec Onken with 515B LF & 288H HF, Technics SP10 MKII & EMT938 turntables
  Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2012, 06:01 AM   #727
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
you also have Nippon Chemi-Con U32D series. apexJr have some 33.000uF 50V for $4 a pc. ESR:0.0125ohm
ripple current 17.22A. but this is cans. not snap-in.
  Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2012, 11:06 AM   #728
diyAudio Member
 
Blink_PT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Portugal
Quote:
Originally Posted by anilva View Post
I am struggling to come to a conclusion on what type and value of the PSU caps I need to use per rail per channel of Turbo v3. I tried the NP suggested 10000uF, 63V caps in CCCCRCCCC for each rail in the V2 variant and I still got hum related to ripple. I am saying that this is ripple related hum because it disappears at lower bias levels. The Toroid I have used for V2 is a 1000VA, 24V at secondaries.

Either my caps are fake or are not upto the quality expected. What is the spec I should look for in terms of ESR and Ripple Current? Is there a minimum value I need to look for? Also any suggestions on the brand and model of the caps which are affordable for a DIYer? I have seen some fancy caps being sold for over $150 per pair, cannot afford that.

I may be asking questions which are asked over a thousand times on this forum, but I am looking for help from a F5T perspective. Also I am not an expert in caps and power supplies. Please bear with my ignorance.

Thanks.
In some cases, the mere fact that the F5 away from other devices may result in loss of humm.

The power grid has several harmonics from various devices used by itself and neighbors, it also influences the humm, and is difficult to alleviate.

I advise the use of a filter Electrical network 30A of Lambda (TDK is now), this filter does wonders throughout the audio system.

I use Lambda MXB-1230-30A 30 where I made a box with outlets
  Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2012, 03:12 PM   #729
anilva is offline anilva  India
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Bangalore
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blink_PT View Post
In some cases, the mere fact that the F5 away from other devices may result in loss of humm.

The power grid has several harmonics from various devices used by itself and neighbors, it also influences the humm, and is difficult to alleviate.

I advise the use of a filter Electrical network 30A of Lambda (TDK is now), this filter does wonders throughout the audio system.

I use Lambda MXB-1230-30A 30 where I made a box with outlets
Thanks, I will check out the Lambda stuff. I can hear my Toroid making different noises when my water pressure pump keeps going on and off....
__________________
DIY F5, F5T, F6, Aleph J, Fostex 206 based BLH, Altec Onken with 515B LF & 288H HF, Technics SP10 MKII & EMT938 turntables
  Reply With Quote
Old 23rd December 2012, 03:16 PM   #730
BigE is offline BigE  Canada
diyAudio Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Toronto
Quote:
Originally Posted by AudioSan View Post
BigE.
you will not get 50VAC on the output with 50VDC rails
but you are not far off
How do you make the adjustment?
  Reply With Quote

Reply


Hide this!Advertise here!
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
F5 Turbo Circuit Boards chchyong89 Pass Labs 2363 27th September 2014 03:10 PM
B1 builders thread Bas Horneman Pass Labs 696 14th July 2014 01:57 PM
F5 Turbo is posted Nelson Pass Pass Labs 635 6th April 2014 11:51 AM
F5 turbo problems Rob Dingen Pass Labs 17 11th January 2013 09:38 PM
F5 Turbo ............. if only !!!!!! a.wayne Pass Labs 23 21st January 2012 03:24 AM


New To Site? Need Help?

All times are GMT. The time now is 07:21 AM.


vBulletin Optimisation provided by vB Optimise (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2014 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
Copyright ©1999-2014 diyAudio

Content Relevant URLs by vBSEO 3.3.2